Drawing for Dwelling -Morris's eye

in #art6 years ago (edited)

eyeholeTHR.jpg

Spying

This is the third drawing I created for the first chapter of @dougkarr's novel Dwelling. In this drawing the character Morris is watching his neighbours through a peephole in his door.

... pressing his nose into the marked up wall. He peered out through a timeworn relic of a peephole in the sealed wooden door.

@dougkarr Dwelling -CHAPTER ONE The Tenement

3inkmarks.png

The process

I started off by sketching out a few ideas before choosing to go with the close up shot of the eye peering through a keyhole. I drew out my design on the paper in pencil, and then began to work over some of the lines with a dip pen and drawing inks.

Feb1832.jpg

Using a paintbrush I began to build up tonal washes of ink over the areas. I got to the stage where the majority of the image was finished, and I just needed to add a black ink wash to the background to suggest the dark exterior of the door.
inksplat.png

I read the text again, and questioned to myself why the keyhole would have a ''glass ring''. Doh! I realised my image should look less like a keyhole and more like a round door viewer - the type you get in hotel doors. I scanned my image, and using a graphics editor I applied a round mask over the top of the drawing to suggest a circular peephole rather than a keyhole. Phew, no need to start again!

Feb1832b.jpg


He stood up, his hulking frame towering as he leaned over the toilet, pressing his nose into the marked up wall. He peered out through a timeworn relic of a peephole in the sealed wooden door. A pair of communal latrines on each floor had once been shared by apartments bursting with tenants, but were now sloppily coupled to each living quarter in a string of slapdash late seventies renovations. Yet Morris's keyhole remained.

Through the glass ring, he caught the slightest waft of the artist and the blonde stumbling up the stairs. He’d missed his opportunity at a proper glimpse by mere seconds. The sheen of the blonde’s soft skin was painfully elusive in its rapid exit from sight.

@dougkarr Dwelling -CHAPTER ONE The Tenement



7inkmarks.png

You can read the 1st chapter of Doug Karr's novel Dwelling now!



Redbubble shop

Have a great day and Steem on!

Sort:  

Wow! Wow!! Wow!!! What a wonderful artwork, well you've got some good equipment I guess, I would love to see more of your wonderful works on daily basis. Would try to be checking your blog often time from now.

Excellent- thank you very much.

Nice, it made me laugh, good thing you went with the round one it looks much more like a peephole lol You really got the feeling of someone spying/snooping through it, there's an intensity in the eye that suggests more than just a quick peek

I think the round composition works better at accentuating the rolls of skin under the eye too - like he is seeping out of the door through the peephole.

Agreed! Like he wants to get closer

Interesting work! You can actually say a lot just looking at peoples eyes. Did you ever notice how someone from a far distance who is looking at your eyes is so obvious to you that he is doing that? Or how dogs are looking you at your eyes yet they don't know or understand anything about you? Well, maybe they do, we don't know that :) but my point is that eys are really special human attributes and can give a lot of atmosphere and mood out to other people and you did a great work on reaching that point with this eye artwork! How can I not love this beauty of your art that resonates somehow always with me? ;)

youbare good....nice drawing

As always great work, looks very cool

Glad you like it- thank you!

I spy with my little eye. Great work.

I admire the power of summary that you have, as with a single image you captured vario fractions of the novel. congratulations for the gift you have
The beautiful work as always
I wish you a wonderful week dear friend @opheliafu

Thank you - I'm enjoying this project :D

I love this, especially how creepy Moris’s eye looks. And the graphic circle with Dorian and the Unripe blond figures in the pupil, just amazing!! Thank you so much for all your fantastic Dwelling artwork!

Thanks @dougkarr! I'm quite good at doing creepy art :D

so beautiful! I've always intrigued by the eyes and this is a fantastic artwork! Great to see also the process too, I used ink just few time so read this post was very interested for me ^_^

I'm using inks for all of this series. I'm excited about some of the techniques of been using with the other pieces- looking forward to sharing these in a future post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66244.62
ETH 3320.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70