Drawing for Dwelling -Frank

in #art6 years ago

frankTH.png

It's a bugs life

Today, I'm showing you the process of how I created an illustration for Chapter Eleven of Doug Karr's fantastic novel Dwelling. This drawing is of a very special house 'guest', Frank.

"Can you check first?" Althea asked.

"Baby, I don't think Frank's coming back."

She shuddered at the name she herself had given.

Dorian took a cursory look as he stepped inside the dark apartment. He peered at the sink and under the bathtub in his kitchen.

@dougkarr's novel Dwelling -Chapter 11

franchroachSML.gif

Drawing Frank the cockroach

The process of creating a drawing for Chapter 11 of Dwelling. The image was sketched out in pencil, then layers of ink and water were added with a brush. An old toothbrush was used to flick ink onto the image.

March1833.jpg

Althea took a cautious step inside as Dorian flipped on the lights.

She jumped backwards petrified, "FRANK! Frank! There he is! FRANK!"

@dougkarr's novel Dwelling -Chapter 11

2cockroach.gif

creepycTXT.png

3cockroach.gif

The lines and details were applied to the body of the cochroach with a dip pen and drawing ink.
frankboard.png

'Frank'


Ink on paper

Dorian spotted the cause of her hissy fit; a humongous cockroach climbed the wall above the tub.

"Oh fuck!"

He'd been hoping to be done with the unsavory little houseguest by now.

Althea couldn't stop squealing, "Kill him!"

@dougkarr's novel Dwelling -Chapter 11

6inkmarks.png

You can read the 11th chapter of Doug Karr's novel Dwelling now!


Redbubble shop

Have a great day and Steem on!

Sort:  

Oh Frank, you creepy little critter, the toothbrush used to create you couldn’t make you clean if it wanted to. Can’t help loving this little guy despite my ancestral brain telling me not to.

oh frank, you creepy little critter, the toothbrush used to create you couldn’t make you clean if it wanted to.

That toothbrush never gets cleaned- adds more personality to the marks that way.

Always love to see an artist at works.. I could read this post for hours.

hey cuando aras un concurso de los tuyos me gustan mucho participar en tus actividades y te olvidaste de hacerlas

This post has been upvoted by @steem-ambassador.

The #promo-steem mission is to support high quality promotional and educational posts which raise the profile and value of STEEM.

For full details of the programme, please visit https://promo-steem.com

Hello Friend. That drawing is really cool. I love how real it looks, it's almost incredible. Each line was such an intense detail and the process of making the drawing for you must have been very easy because it shows that you love what you do, while I see it as something incredible. I must also note that the narration of Chapter-11 was very good. Greetings friend I hope you have an excellent day.

These visitors are in all parts of the world, they have no border.
beautiful work dear friend @opheliafu, I loved the process of creation vel. Congratulations.
I wish you a wonderful night

I'm glad to say they are yet to visit me - a bit too cold I think.

Hello @opheliafu <3, i love your art and histories, i want to ask you something, i draw a lot, but no one see or vote me :(, how can i get more followers?(sorry for my english, saludos desde Venezuela <3)(by the way i love your contests.)

This is just perfect....the black ink on paper gives your drawing the perfect kinda creepy atmosphere... =D

Mwwwhhhhhaaaaaahahaaa

Frank the cockroach, lol! Love this drawing. I always thought cockroaches had a lot of personality, so they do not really bother me.

You have to have a lot of personality to be that nuclear proof i imagine :D

I love frank! Great illustration.

Everyone loves Frank!

You just gotta love frank! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62025.78
ETH 2417.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49