Drawing for Dwelling -Axlerod Calling

in #art6 years ago

phoneboardTH.png

The cellphone

Today, I'm showing you the process of how I created 'Axlerod Calling', an illustration for Chapter Eighteen of Doug Karr's amazing novel Dwelling.

Chisulo shrugged, hand edging back to mouth. Ndusen's ancient cellphone rang and he stood, welcoming the distraction.

Chapter Eighteen of Dwelling by Doug Karr.

inksplat.png

The process of creating the drawing

March1840.jpg

The image of the phone was drawn out in pencil, then areas were masked off with tape. Layers of tones were then built up using drawing inks and water.

March1841.jpg

Lines and details were added using a dip pen and drawing ink. Rubber letter stamps and ink were used to add the text to the image.

phone.gif

Once he reached the dim confines of the bedroom and saw the name on screen, he turned the ringer off. Letting Mr. Axlerod stew an extra ring or two had become a daily ritual.

Chapter Eighteen of Dwelling by Doug Karr.

phoneboard.png

3inkmarks.png

'Axlerod Calling'


Ink on paper

inksplat.png

"Hello?" Ndusen said at last into the phone, as if he did not know who it was.

"It's Axlerod. I need you to turn off the water to 9 and 10. I got Vasilli coming tomorrow. He'll flip the water back when he's done. And time’s up for Irene Holt."

"Ok."

Chapter Eighteen of Dwelling by Doug Karr.

6inkmarks.png

You can read the 18th chapter of Doug Karr's novel Dwelling now!


Redbubble shop

Have a great day and Steem on!

Sort:  

I really like the technique you use for your work, the masking of the work is great, a very detailed work, congratulations.
I admire the knowledge of techniques you know.
I wish you a beautiful last night dear friend @opheliafu

Thank you @jlufer, yes I like to use a range of techniques when creating my work.

Beautifully done and all with traditional mediums. I actually had that trusty phone back in 2004 :D

Still have one- what do you think I used to draw from ;D

You're still using that thing? Those phones will not die...

It is in use. :D

You know while I read the story and saw the drawing, I remembered a series that happened on OnDirectv, called Fargo, the first season (it was the one I liked the most), remember when Malvo called Lester, that dark voice, and you drew that incredibly Well, I really enjoy watching your drawings.

(Although I almost do not vote, but I am always amazed with your art)

My beloved nokia What a nice smile I had when I saw your drawing. I liked the mixture of materials, a work that transmits time and detail. The stamp gave a good touch. Again, I congratulate you. Health luz fermin.

I loved the indestructible nature of my old Nokia Phone - I seem to destroy phones much more easily these days!

Es muy cierto ja ja. Saludos

what a creativity!! wanderful!!!!!

Legendary Mobile. NOKIA-1100 Model.
@opheliafu

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

This post has been upvoted by @steem-ambassador.

The #promo-steem mission is to support high quality promotional and educational posts which raise the profile and value of STEEM.

For full details of the programme, please visit https://promo-steem.com

@opheliafu i like art..............

Brilliant work I always love proper 3D work. I just hate this phone I spent a whole summer quality controlling them sorry 💯🐒

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64222.70
ETH 2651.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77