Drawing angels

in #art7 years ago (edited)

I thought it only fitting to write this post whilst listening to Aerosmith's 'Angel' on repeat. The 1988 video rocks.

I have a workshop at the weekend and the theme is angels, so it's time to get planning. I've been busy experimenting with possible outcomes and it's become quite a messy day. I've had yellow and blue fingers most of the day, a combination of oil pastels and ink.

Experiment 1

Pink sugar paper coated with yellow ready mix paint, left to dry. Design drawn with oil pastels.

Experiment 2

Orange sugar paper coated with light orange ready mix paint, left to dry. Design drawn with oil pastels and wax. Two layers of watercolours added.


I used a resist technique with the oil pastels against a darker watercolour to suggest rays of light. However, I also wanted to combine this light with the vibrancy of bold colour.

I hope you enjoyed these, more to follow soon.

Follow me @opheliafu

https://img1.steemit.com/0x0/http://opheliafu.thefugroup.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/ophelia-fu-title-v2--300x196.jpg

I completed this post with a lip sync to Aerosmith - 'I Don't Want to Miss a Thing', (finishing with my hand on the monitor).

👄Maybe the next Steemit contest could be The Steemit Lip Sync Battles? 👄

Sort:  

Angel workshop, great idea! I like the second the most, they are so colorful.

Thank you, I've injected colour into most of the pieces. I can't resist bold colour!

Great idea, Steemit-Lipsync-Battles :-) May I use my sock puppet?

I'm not sure, I'd have to check the rules (that I haven't written yet).

I do like the first, love anything to do with angels :)

That's fantastic, as I'm about to post a lot of them! ;D

Brilliant, can't wait :)

Hehe, I can almost see the lip syncing. The light rays are fab!

I think you would be the best Steemian to run with The Steemit Lip Sync Battle idea, as you know I'm an introvert.

Hoho, yes. I am struggling to make out which part of that statement might be true ;0)

Very nice. Followed. Do you sell these?

Not these ones, but I may put some new angel themed work on Peerhub soon.

I like orange background and bold color, nice work @opheliafu

I have a real fondness for the colour orange at the moment, maybe due to autumn?

Aerosmith is a great choice for drawing angels. I'm glad to see another artist uses repeat with her tunes. I wasn't sure anyone else did that too. Love these. And I love how you can be inspired by music. I can see this song is ideal. The jewel tones are rich and fabulous.

Fortunately @cryptofunk was out, otherwise I think he would have been driven mad by Steven Tyler.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 22. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.09 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 22 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I thought about a lip sync battle to work in conjunction with OpenMic because I think we could definitely have a lot of fun with costumes and video BUT...I'm trying to Steem AND finish my WriMo novel!
And Angel by Aerosmith... I think I may have groaned. It was my high school senior banquet song. Have I mentioned I hated high school? LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25