Delicate Petals

in #art7 years ago

greenhydranthumb.jpg

A hint of green

As the weather turns rather autumnal and the rusting leaves are being blown off the trees the hydrangeas are turning interesting shades of burnt reds, crimson and soft greens. The garden is becoming full of the colours of autumn.

Today, I was ignoring the rain and wind rattling at the windows. I decided to paint a picture using a soft colour palette of delicate pinks and greens. I'd already rescued a few hydrangea flower heads from the bad weather earlier on this week, they were sat in vase on my drawing desk calling to me to be painted.

AugSep201716.jpg

I applied masking fluid first, and allowed this to dry. I then built up layers of watercolour, applying the colour to the wet paper a little at a time.
AugSep201717.jpg

After I had allowed the initial layers of colour to dry, I added darker tones and stronger colour to the dry paper to build up the details of the flowers.
AugSep201718.jpg

'Delicate Petals' -2017

greenhydranmed.jpg

Watercolours on paper

Sort:  

My heart gone wild when I saw your post <3

I had few hydrangeas from Italy... I saw a lot of potential in them, because it was not a common species and I took a lot of care of them. Just like yours! I wanted to do something special and I wish I had one hundred!!!

Yesteday I finished working on my last statement necklace with my last hydrangeas...
And now I see your today's artwork ...

My heart hurts when I see how many are there... I had around 12 and I cherished them like nothing before:)))

And the way you "printed" them on paper it's halucinating!

I can admit now that I can't see all the colors behind "everything", because I started to see a lot, all of a sudden in your painting...

Thank you for the enthusiam that flows into me right now<3!

If you are curios about how it turned out this necklace I could upload the picture here, but I didn't do it without you permission, it's your feed here:)!

Thank you, thank you, thank you!

https://steemit.com/art/@opheliafu/a-beautiful-fragility

Now on this piece I use pressed hydrangea flowers and the decayed ones to create a cyanotype. I think the decayed (veiny) ones would look lovely coated in resin- I've done it before but as thick chunky resin blocks - you could do it as delicate jewellery.

I'm sure of that! Every challenge is welcomed!

If you think more seriuos about this, you can send me a letter with them :)

What you did there is amazing! A great idea, haven't seen it before!

yes put the picture here- I was just on your post! I left you a message.

DSC_5230.jpg

!

Soooo beautiful!

Thank you <3 !!!

very beautiful dear... you blog very well...keep it up

Thank you for the compliment 😊

Welcome and do find time to check my blog posts...

Thanks mate as I do expect your comments...

I never get tired by looking at your watercolors @opheliafu. They are transmitting a peaceful and pleasant feeling. Thank you!

That is so kind, thank you!

As always amazing job! So soft, and feminine!

Thank you so much!

I really love hydrangea flowee, they have very interesting shades of pink (and sometime in blue too ^_^). You perfectly captured all the delicacy of their petals!

I need to get my camera out and photograph the ones near my house- there are some lovely dark plum shades and petroleum blues.

Loving the colours, winds and rain here to, think we are going straight to Winter lol

Yes maybe autumn is being skipped over.

Nearly Christmas yay :)

Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooo! I can't take the thought of Christmas shopping.

Got to agree with that but love the Day :)

Hydrangeas are always my favorites....mine are already dried, I think it's a bit early, I saw the neighbour still have quite colorful ones...Yet, I love them also dried, they look like crumpled paper ^_^
Your interpretation is wonderful and indeed sweetly delicate !
romeo fleur.png

Yes, once I cut them to go in the house they stay there all through winter as dried flowers- gorgeous colours even when dried.

Very beautiful art

Great artwork! and I feel poetry and how rain drops slipped from petals

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62864.56
ETH 2538.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93