Cucurbita, Cucurbita, Cucurbita!

in #art8 years ago

A busy day of pumpkin drawing, I'm finding beauty in the colours of those Cucurbitas today!

My next pumpkin piece is a mixed media drawing made with watercolors, felt tip pen and oil pastels.

The process:

Drawing out the outline with felt tip pen. Adding a light base colour of yellow oil pastel followed by orange to define the shape .

Using a resist technique I added watercolours over the top of the oil pastel. The watercolours went into the gaps between the oil pastels, resisting the surface of the oils pastels.


I left this stage to dry before adding dark oil pastels for the darkest tones.

Details and close-ups


Pumpkin patch.

Follow me @opheliafu

https://s25.postimg.org/x0yxbs6tb/dreamlink_FB.jpg

Sort:  

Great work once again. I can't believe Halloween is almost here and I don't know what I'm going to be yet. Maybe a man baby with an adult diaper on and a sippy cup full of Vodka!

So you're not going to make a costume?

Your pumpkin more friendly than my :)

Yours scared the pumpkin seeds out of mine!

You sure captured the blotchiness of those squash. They are beautiful little things - in real life and in your art. Enjoy eating them, too! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60935.14
ETH 2365.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55