Changing Hydrangeas

in #art7 years ago

hydrothumb.jpg

Autumn Hydrangeas

As the colder weather of autumn approaches the petals of the hydrangeas change colour. These hydrangeas that were bright pink in summer are slowly developing petals with mottled hues of crimson and pale green

hydrangeaaug.jpg

I chose some of the more rusty red coloured flowers and cut a few stems for my drawing desk. The hydrangea flowers will dry beautifully and sit on display all through winter.
hydrboard.jpg

Watercolour layers

I built up layers of watercolour, starting with light washes of pale greens and then darker crimson.

hydraflowers.jpg

White pen and watercolour pencils

Once the watercolour was dry I used a white pen to loosely draw in the lines of the petals. Watercolour pencil was applied to add depth behind some of the petals, a damp brush was then used to blend this in.

hydrapen.jpg

'Changing Hydrangeas'-2017

hydrafinal.jpg

Have a wonderful day!

opheliafulogo.png

Sort:  

Can't believe how accurately you capture colors and shapes with such seeming lightness. The white pen works really well here!

The white pen is a tool box essential lol!

Haha.. only ever use white paint with a brush, but that's tool box essential for me too ;-)

Very beautiful @opheliafu They are so delicate and ghostly. Beautiful :)

I suppose there is a touch of the unworldly about them!

I admire this work dear friend @opheliafu, it is a beautiful work, I love the color you have chosen, thank you very much for sharing this beautiful work

Thank you @jlufer! Always a pleasure to share my work on Steemit!

I loved it, it has lots of details to pay atention for :D

Thank you @opheliapoe- there is a lot going on in this one yes!

Ah, tricky motive. Nice painting ;)

Amazing work, love the colours :)

I agree with @reinhard-schmid you are so good with color mixing. I also like the way how it looks like a mess in the beginning, and then you add just a few tiny lines and it comes to life :)

Haha, yes you are right- I like to create from chaos!

It's good when you can create harmony from the chaos :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65791.75
ETH 3465.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68