Blackberries

in #art7 years ago

blackberrythumb.jpg

Berry nice

The hedgerows around Britain are full of ripe blackberries at the moment. The ripe and unripe berries have beautiful colour combinations of greens, reds and dark purples. It's hard to go for a walk without coming back with bags of blackberries and purple stained fingers.

AugSep201710.jpg

For this painting I'm using watercolours. I started off with painting water on to the paper and then dropping the color into the water to create a loose and flowing background colour.
AugSep201711.jpg

Once dry, I used the watercolours to build up layers of colour for the berries and leaves.
AugSep201712.jpg

After all that painting I needed a little break. A cocktail break!

AugSep201713.jpg

Ophelia's Wild bramble cocktail

3 freshly picked wild blackberries
3 frozen wild blackberries
A shot of Gin
A drizzle of Creme de Mure
A squeeze of lemon juice, and zest
A splash of soda water
A drizzle of syrup de gomme

Serve with ice and a nice bit of art.

blackberriesmed.jpg

'Brambles' -2017, watercolours on paper

Steem on!

Sort:  

3 freshly picked wild blackberries
3 frozen wild blackberries
A shot of Gin
A drizzle of Creme de Mure
A squeeze of lemon juice, and zest
A splash of soda water
A drizzle of syrup de gomme

very good post... nice post!

beautiful art

very interesting drawing with watercolor as you have done. would fit again if I drew like that for my mother's dressing

Watercolours is a nice medium to use for painting, especially if you are looking for a delicate nature to the lines.

beautiful and yes, the country roads around here are full of them, it's great and that cocktail sounds awesome. yummy! :)

I have a freezer full of blackberries- crumble anyone?

omg yes. with some clotted cream or lovely custard. i could eat that everyday.

Lovely! & thirst quenching! Can't wait to try that cocktail. And love the Brambles painting!

Cocktails and art could be my new blog theme- but I'm not sure if I would get much art done.

Nice one. I love blackberries! For the drink try a splash on scotch (not a expensive one) next time.
It's the same in Sofia even in the parks there are lots of berries but people don't take them because they are afraid of pollution. To which i say fuck pollution I wanna eat some blackberries :D

Scotch sounds fun idea- I'm not a big fan of whiskey unless I tone it down and sweeten it- so I'm probably add some honey. And yes, I'd use a cheap whiskey.

Nice, juicy blackberries. You captured them very nicely with your brush!
The cocktail looks appealing too ... 😋

Looks real! Upvoted

Please take time to read my recent post. Your upvotes is highly appreciated thanks :-)

https://steemit.com/poetry/@athenabree08/take-my-hand-not-my-life

Cool))) As always with admiration, I say "You have golden hands)))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57396.91
ETH 2446.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41