Are you ready for the equinox?

in #art8 years ago

The Autumn equinox is here -September 22nd in the Northern Hemisphere

Autumn is by far my favourite season. There is nothing quite like a sunny autumn day, the warmth of the sun on your skin whilst breathing in the crisp air. Summer is still clinging on in some corners of my garden, but I’m beginning to see the touches of autumn’s colourful hands creeping into to the borders.

I wrote this poem whilst sat in my garden this morning.


So, today is the Autumn equinox in the Northern Hemisphere, I have my paper primed and ready to go. Today’s drawing will have a touch of autumnal colour to it. Catch up with me later to see what I have created!

What is the Autumn Equinox? The technical bit...


Image by Met Office

Astronomical seasons meanwhile start on a different dates each year and totally vary in length, depending on the Earth’s 23.5 degree tilt on its rotational axis as well as its orbit around the Sun.
Spring and autumn equinoxes (equal day and night) and the summer (longest day) and winter (longest night) solstices mark the start of the astronomical seasons each year. The word ‘equinox’ itself actually mean ‘equal’ (equi) and ‘night’ (nox).
The dates of these change each year as they are dependent on the Earth’s position. The Earth is closest to the Sun, known as perihelion, in early January and furthest away, aphelion, in early July.
In 2016 the astronomical autumn will start on September 22 and end on December 21 with the winter solstice.

Read more:Text Source by Amy Willis for Metro.co.uk

So catch up with me later today @opheliafu to find out what I will paint whilst sat in the autumn air this morning!

P.S. Google has a cute and funky GIF on its UK page today too!


Google image Source

Sort:  

Yikes! Ok, we'll get you a heat lamp and pretend that autumn is not here!

am now missing summer but your post eases me into the new season gently

I hope you feel the warmth from it, but time to wrap up... as it may be getting colder!

Well done- do you have a scarf and gloves too?

:) I'm ready :) half day sleep, half day - not :)

Yes! @smailer has arrived!! It's the autumn equinox you are allowed to be a little sleepy. Maybe you are getting ready for hibernation?
I have made a nice box with straw and hay in the corner of Steemit for you to nestle up in and go to sleep this winter. You just need to stock up on coffee and biscuits before you hibernate though.


ready to sleep on your straw nest :)

Time is getting away.....NOOOOOOOOO That is why I'm up at 3:00am to get stuff done!

That's the spirit! Make more time. I'm working on my own @opheliafu time machine (patent pending)

I'm determined to enjoy Autumn and Winter this year, even going into and leaving work in the dark. Ooooohh lovely. Thanks for your post, helping get me in the mood.

Maybe have a cup of hot chocolate on the way home, perfect way to celebrate the dark nights and makes you positive about the evening coming so early!

I love that image, like rust you exhale color.

I was in the thought of autumn being a being. A woodland spirit.

Seasons are still a bit weird for me here in Chile. Haha While my brain says we are going into autumn and getting ready for Halloween and Christmas, we are actually going into spring.
I'm just glad that the rainy season is receeding!

Confusing! Well happy springtime!

Right?
Thanks friend!

Already! time to stock up on the comfort drinks and foods. I love autumn :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57882.05
ETH 2579.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35