A Beautiful Dream

in #art7 years ago

If this is a dream then let me sleep

The tranquility of a Sunday morning is bliss. The coffee is on, the sun is shining and I woke up to the sound of the birds singing, divine! I think this may be the perfect cyanotype to share with you on a morning like this. Enjoy!

dreamsleepingthumb.jpg

The Process -exposure to UV

This is the process of how I made this cyanotype print. The initial stage was coating the paper in a light sensitive solution, I do this at night time to avoid the paper being exposed to the sun's UV light. The paper is then left to dry, and then prepared for exposure by placing objects and text over the paper and setting these under glass.

Stages 1- 4 show the colour change in the paper as it is exposed to sunlight. The chemicals on the paper react to the UV light.

cyanotypes may20172.jpg

Water bath

Stages 1- 4 show the colour change in the paper from exposure to the paper being placed into a water bath to stop the light sensitive process.

In stage 1 the paper is still sensitive to light, so it has to go into the water quickly to process the print and stop the areas I want to keep light from being exposed to UV. The different wash stages then help clear the green/yellow tint, leaving areas white. The print will darken over 24 hours to a deep blue.

cyanotypes may20173.jpg

'A Beautiful Dream' 2017

dreamsleepingsml.jpg

Cyanotype on paper

https://img1.steemit.com/0x0/http://opheliafu.thefugroup.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/ophelia-fu-title-v2--300x196.jpg

If you liked this you will love Soft Petals!
Sort:  

A bit chilly this morning so a cardi is handy if wearing something summery ;)

The perfect temperature for me!

The Cloths of Heaven

Had I the heaven's embroidered cloths,
Enwrought with golden and silver light,
The blue and the dim and the dark cloths
Of night and light and the half-light;
I would spread the cloths under your feet:
But I, being poor, have only my dreams;
I have spread my dreams under your feet;
Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

W. B. Yeats

Beautiful. Are you feeling OK?

You have exceptional talent! ☆☆☆☆☆😎

You are too kind @michaelstobiersk!

❤❤❤❤❤😎

Wow! Beautiful stuff, thanks for sharing

A pleasure to share this, have a great day!

Wow! This is so beautiful.. Loved the color :)

Are they all made by the "Acetone prints" method??!

No cyanotype method- it's a chemical reaction rather than a transfer.

I see a unicorn with its little arm out

You need to lay off that strong coffee hubby!

You gona sell this aplications after you are done?

I sell some of my cyanotypes, but this is going towards a collection for possible future exhibition. There are a few Steemians who do own my cyanotypes though, but I made them exclusively for them.

lovely pieces. i like how the textures have turned out. Will you try different colors? Perhaps mesh a couple of them together?

You can tint cyanotypes prints- but they get their name from the chemical reaction that turns the paper blue (cyan).
I do digital overlays of colour and drawing with some of cyanotype prints- there are a few on my blog :D

Excellent. Will check them out.

great...rs and upvote for u....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57213.13
ETH 2415.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40