Abstract Creative Process

in #art6 years ago

My creative process has evolved over the years but a few things have remained the same. One of the biggest things that has stayed the same is that I love doing abstract paintings that are not planned or sketched out before execution.
I thought I'd post the process of one of my more recent paintings from thus summer. I did some live painting in Merritt British Columbia pre Bass Coast . It was so hot this day, I had an umbrella all day to protect me from the sun's rays.

IMG_0381.JPG

I started by just playing around with some red spray paint and looked for some cool shapes. I then pulled out the shapes of these flowers by painting the rest of the canvas black. I felt like the spacey theme would fit well.
IMG_0363.JPG
Once I had a general idea of what I was working with I started looking for more details and bringing in the main colour of the piece. In this case, purple acrylic paint. I started adding some yellow dusting to start creating the spacey look.
I recently had been really inspired by the "tron" look and wanted to create a sort of futuristic sunset. You can start to see it in the top left corner.
IMG_0365.JPG
I just keep adding detail until it feels like it's done. The process is really about me listening to my inner voice and letting the piece speak to me.
IMG_0366.JPG

The final touches were these spaghetti-like lines that act to tie everything together and add some more dynamic feeling to the whole thing.
Here's the final product.
IMG_0367.JPG
Detail of the work
IMG_0375.JPG

Sort:  

Cam! Why didn't you tell us you started posting? I'm going to feature you in my weekly art curation post ❤️ I hope all is well :)

haha! I just started really getting into it. I only have a few posts. I'm still trying to figure out this crazy thing. There are actually a few people here on Salt Spring who are into doing some steemit stuff so I'm going to try to get a little group going! Thanks for the support :) I hope you guys are doing well too! I'm missing montreal already! Thanks for introducing me to this site

Also forgot I should link you a few resources, this is the most important: https://steemit.com/steemit/@minnowsupport/steemit-passwords-the-ultimate-guide-to-key-safety
Also this, there have been tons of phishing attacks lately in comment sections so don't click on anything without scrolling over first and making sure it actually leads to steemit.com, not sleemit, or steemil or anything else, please read the key safety post and only login using your posting key!
https://steemit.com/technology/@jrswab/steem-phishing-what-you-need-to-know-to-stay-secure

oh damn! Cool thanks! I will definitely be careful and I saved all my passwords! I'm learning, I'm learning!

Thanks for including my post, Julia!

mmm, just the words abstract creative process make me want to melt in to a thousand bubbles. I think If I ever get a tattoo, that would be it....ABSTRACT CREATIVE PROCESS. Right across my forehead (only backwards so I see it the right way round when I look in the mirror everyday). x

Basil this is a great idea and this way we could not confuse you with someone else! This is my bro from way back so smash the follow, it took us hours of convincing to bring him over here (and I sounded like an infomercial salesman you can ask him).

haha yes you did infomercial me! It was full on but now I'm here and feel like I'm enjoying it so far. Thanks for putting me on!

Haha. I am not done with you yet. You still need to join a server named PAL on discord.
1-download and install discord (just type in google)
2-when it's done open it and click this link
https://discord.gg/XqVMRCr
3-when you are in there find Julia and ask her questions. you might have a few.
love you bro.

oh don't worry, I had already smashed the follow button right off the screen when I first checked this post out. Definitely my kind of content :D

Haha thanks for all the smashing. Your tattoo idea sounds like it may propel you into some interesting places in life. Maybe make a steemit post about how your life changed from doing it? I love the visual of you melting into a thousand bubbles. I may use that for inspiration. Mucho thanks!

hehe. maybe I'll try it in pen first....see how it feels ;p

Very cool!!

thanks! Glad you think so

Nice! I like how it draws my eye in so many different directions the longer I look. I feel like there is something new to see if I just keep looking. Love the colors, as well!

oh ya, it's all about the colours. It's cool you see the motion, it's something I strive for. Thanks for leaving your thoughts, much appreciated!

I'm a fan of your art. Your art is a little extraordinary I like it very much.

Happy Steeming.

Thanks! I am enjoying this place so far

No planning or sketching out--gosh that sounds fun. Taking the work out of it.

ya i find that sketching sometimes removes all the fun of being surprised and finding new pathways

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75