Awesome DIY Hemp Wrapped Glasses!

in #art8 years ago

HELLO GUYS AND GALS!

PC110171ee91a.jpg
Man, this was a fun little project over the weekend. Here in CNY we have two things going on, snow and Christmas. (I guess they kind of come together) Now I know not everyone celebrates but it has been a long time since I have been really happy. So, I am taking this time to really enjoy life and the holidays.
PC110172defc8.jpg
Now, I am not by any means poor but I am middle class and cheap. If I truly believe it can still work for me then I want to keep it and keep using it whatever it may be. (this case my sexy A/X glasses) I will be getting a new pair in early 2017 but why not give my old pair new life before I must replace them. (it has been over 4 years) So i saved some money on a new pair this holiday season and brought them back to life, considering it is the time to give! Lol
PC110177f1cd6.jpg
PC110178317fe.jpg
I began by knotting my hemp string inside the hinge of the frame. This allows for the fluid movement of my glasses still and a great place to begin. After that I just started on my square knots. These are pretty simple, as I am a super beginner. It took about an hour and a half to complete one side but I wasn't really pushing it to be fast. I do this for relaxation while watching the tele. Right about where the ears start I decided it would be easier to literally just wrap up the ends. It comes out cool and no one really can tell.
PC110180aa91b.jpg
Finally, we have come to the finished product. Total time invested was about two and a half hours but well worth it. as you can see from the earlier pictures bare metal was showing. (not nice on back of ears) Now I have myself a super fancy pair of glasses to rock out. My lens prescription has not changed in about 10 years so I have never cared to get new ones fast. Contacts are also worn which helps. :smile:
PC110184e38b9.jpg
PC11018597878.jpg
PC1101835d81e.jpg
THANKS FOR SUPPORTING BY UPVOTING, FOLLOWING, AND RESTEEMING!

:::

:::

:::

;:::::;

:::

;

@ONLYONEMAN

Sort:  

Fantastic revamp. Wonderful idea to bring a fresh appeal to glasses that don't need to be changed. 😊🙏😊

Hey brother upvoted and resteemed!! Try and get on steemspeak server on discord and listen in on voice and network with some folks on there!!! Ned ceo of steemit inc. gets on from time to time.

Will do sometime. You know these holiday times. Busy. Busy. Busy. lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60938.00
ETH 2386.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57