Artist Of The Day - Bernard Dunstan

in #art7 years ago

In this series I'm featuring artists who were showcased in a large lot of gallery exhibition catalogues and art books we obtained at an auction. Some of these artists are absolutely amazing, but the work of others doesn't appeal so much to me. The wonderful thing about art is there is something for everyone!

Bernard Dunstan was born in 1920 and lived to the ripe old age of 97! Some of his works are included in the British Royal Collection. He was not only a painter, but also a well known art teacher. Dunstan was best known for his luminous depictions of musicians, nudes and Venice. Although the works have a spontaneous feel, solid geometry underlies them. Further examples of Dunstan's work can be found here: https://za.pinterest.com/redadmiral/bernard-dunstan/?lp=true

Although Dunstan's works are not really to my taste, I can really relate to their obvious beauty!

@onetree

Sort:  

good post.
thanks for sharing.

I give one vote and share your post due to the posing posts.

Thank you :)

You are welcome :)

I love a good quality art book. And most of the artwork there appeals to me. That slightly abstract quality, although it is still clear what the subject matter is.

I literally got heaps of art books on an auction, and some of them are really fascinating.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64689.90
ETH 3450.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50