I Bought a Zine from @DFLO and it's here! 😁 Plus 2 Surprises?! Cool!

in #art6 years ago

Zine purchased from @dflo has arrived! And she sent me two surprises with it.

steemit1-omitaylor.jpg

I could not contain my excitement when I opened my mailbox to discover the Zine I bought from Dflo is already here. I only bought the middle one in the picture entitled, "Dog." She sent me another two along with it though. What a great surprise.

When I started chatting with Dflo, she had just posted about Zines. I'd seen similar around places in my neighborhood but had no idea what they were. As it turns out, these are magazines and books (publications) created by hand or designed and copied/bound by hand.

Completely enraptured by the creations, I had to have one to read, cherish, collect, study, and analyze. I'd love to make these as a craft. Looking through them, these are highly creative and complicated pieces. The Dog Zine is so intricately created that I've still not opened it; concerned that I should be attentive to the process, because of all the pockets, folds, and contents.

The other two were different as night and day. It seems that Zines are a very individualized art. Since I've started searching the web for more, there are Zines that are magazine style, some book style, some comic style, some like children's books, and the list goes on.

I have a soft spot for creative pieces that are made masterfully with time, focus, and care. I wish I could open these up for you all but that would spoil the fun of buying your own. Dflo said she may start blogging about how to make them. So if you're interested in learning how make Zines, give her a follow.

😁

Sort:  

YAYYYYYYYY! YES! I will start blogging zines i just freaking had like a life meltdown! I even made a video and you know what happened? I had my ipad in this stand thingie and it RECORDED SIDEWAYS. So I got sooo flustered and have to do it again but I soooo will I am sorry its taking so long. Just had my own world of needing jobs and stuff take over my time and headspace and Steemit is more of a hobby right now especially with the prices so low :( . So I have had to spend my time on other stuff when I have that productive energy!

As for the zines i just shoved those in there real quick cuz i wanted to send you more! Do you like the crazy doors that open in that Quart Quub one?? LOL that was made as a collaboration with my friend and we had so much fun but it took forever to tape all that stuff in ! I always dream too big HAHA. Somehow this post has given me a much needed burst of energy though, thank you!!!! <3

I'm going to wait until I'm full power to upvote your comment. :)

First off, don't thank me. Thank you for introducing me to a new craft and hobby. I'm so excited about these. Yes, the crazy windows and popups were awesome. I'm really fascinated by all the options with these. I also liked your seed Zine you posted about. Does it have real seeds in it?

No rush at all. I'm glad that it's inspiring to have a new fan. I look forward to being a student if you ever get around to making some tutorials. You totally have to tell me where you bought those plastic bags and white envelopes. Everything fit together to perfectly. It definitely appealed to my @ocd tendencies. Lol!

Like I said when we chatted, if you saw the hoard of craft supplies I have; you'd totally understand why this is so exciting from an artist perspective as well. I have a 40 gallon bucket of papers. I have enough paper to feel guilty about it. I donate to plant trees just to offset my paper fetish- yes, it's that bad.

You've given my paper collection purpose. And one can never dream too big. Meltdowns happen (especially for single parents.) Glad you're okay and hope you feel better soon. Never apologize to me for doing what you got to do for YOU and your littles. That's exactly the reason we do what we do. You-loving-you comes first girl! Self-care. We'll all be here when you're ready!!!

Okay, going to go open the Dog Zine.

Plastic bags and envelopes always a conundrum. I always check Michaels and if they dont have the size I want I look on Amazon. I hoard paper too , and envelopes, so I dont actually remember exactly where those came from. I may have ordered them special but I really dont know! Using the plastic bag is a nice finishing touch for selling online or craft fairs. People lovvvve when shit is wrapped in plastic haa. I have set things side by side and there is just something about it that makes it say BUY ME. :) But I think it looks nice and the pocket zines definitely need the plastic to hold them together. The Seed one does not have real seeds but is a poem I typed while living in a cabin in the woods in winter. The poem is about feeling all depressed and then realizing the darkness is like the soil.

PS you should look at my friend LadyPajama's stuff. She has a monthly zine she has been doing for at least 10 years and you can subscribe really cheap and it comes in the mail. http://ladypajama.com/

I upvoted you with my petty little penny! Yay! lol. I know exactly what you mean by loving things wrapped and finished. It makes it look professional and sterile. Haha. Okay, cool. I will look around online and at Michaels.

Your seed zine poem sounds really deep. I love that reflective journey craft- we learn so much about ourselves and each other through introspective art. I will look at lady pajama. Is she on Steemit?

Time for a Steemit Shilling Zine lol

You are so right about a zine to shill Steemit. Hmm. Teamgirlpowa is making a zine are you a member of that discord? I am helping with that one if and when we do it! But yeah probably the more creative things we generates here will get people curious to join..

Whoops I accidentally upvoted my own comment. That's what I get for steeming before coffee! I'm leaving it tho hahahaha cuz I don't understand what happens if I remove it the warning message confused me. Need coffee

Girl- PLEASE consider it OKAY to upvote your own comments here. I don't think anyone is watching my little ol account and I do not find it rude one bit- especially considering your comments are genuine and valuable. I'm new and I know my opinions aren't steem-esque but they're going to have to get used to me because I'm not going anywhere. ;)

I think I am in the teamgirlpowa discord but like you, because of the kids and work I'm not online consistently.

Also have a tough time making friends around here so far. x_X

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67271.13
ETH 3515.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70