EVENT UPDATE: SOFT Event + Short Artist Description

in #art6 years ago

InShot_20180820_012232779.jpg


The event I am part of will happen this weekend, and I am just very happy and excited and anxious about everything. One, I am not yet finished with my paintings and drawings to sell. Two, I do not know what exactly to do with my table, like how will I design it and all. And three, I am weirdly overwhelmed with the odds being not in my favor.

It's amazing how a human mind works. It will really make you or break you. And for me, it is slowly eating my sanity, giving me negative vibes that doesn't make sense at all. So instead of lingering to the thoughts, I am going out today to get some fresh air, and treat myself to a good food plus a Milktea from Chingkeetea. I am not just promoting the shop because it's the location of the event, but it is seriously my go-to place whenever I feel down.

Chingkeetea opened a few years back, in my college years. And they grew from one tiny shop into 4 branches, 3 of which is in the city, while the other one is in Iligan, a 2-hour drive from where I live. I always loved their Wintermelon, and even after 30 months of being away from working abroad, the taste is still the same just like how it tasted in my college days.


39585376_2159503260987860_6969470377844015104_n.jpg


In all honesty, I would have declined the event invitation if it wasn't for Chingkeetea. I was basically invited by the owner of the shop, Chingkee, a well-known artisan in our city. Her tea shops are from her imagination and hardwork, and they are all uniquely made. I believe she started the Milktea craze in our city, and I couldn't be happier.

So without thinking about it, I enthusiastically accepted the invitation. It's basically my 2nd time displaying my works for the world to see up-close, and my 1st time selling them.

Will you guys be interested to see all of her branches in our little town? I can always do the virtual trip for you!



SOFT


The other day, they had a meeting I wasn't able to attend because of personal matters. Right after the meeting, the designer of the event asked for an artist/group name, description, and a few artworks.

Here's what I submitted:

BeFunky-collage (5).pngThe artworks I submitted together with the artist's name and description.

NAME: Olaivart
SHORT DESCRIPTION:

OLAIVART is a traditional artist born and based in Cagayan de Oro, Philippines. She started drawing seriously in late 2012 with an aim to hone her skill in portraiture, yet since then discovered a lot of other art practices which led her to develop unique fondness to different mediums.

In 2014, she came across Classical Realism which became her ultimate goal as an artist — to produce realistic artworks just like the old masters. And in 2016, she started to copy Bargue plates and masters' sketches and paintings which eventually improved her work tremendously in terms of value and proportion. Her grandest dream is to study in an Atelier under the guidance of established realist painters of today.

Aside from portraiture, she is also inspired by figure, landscape, and still life artworks by the masters. She is currently exploring different mediums such as charcoal, soft pastel, and acrylic — but the dream medium to master is oil.

She is quite obsessed with the painting "Girl With A Pearl Earring" by Vermeer.


39580604_228175484540339_4981113962490757120_n.jpg


I have finally decided to only sell paintings of 3 things: Cats, Clouds, and Sunsets/Sunrises. I think these are the things that make me vulnerable and soft on the inside, and I want to relay that feeling to my buyers as well. I am also considering of selling prints of photographs I've taken in United Arab of Emirates.

I am just lucky to have very supported friends asking me about the event, and helping me by sharing updates about the event. I just knew how much they wanted to buy my pieces for so long, it's just that I don't sell before. Hopefully this will open more opportunities like commissions and exhibits.


IMG_20180819_143304.jpg


Again, SOFT Event will happen this coming Saturday at 11am, and on Sunday at 1pm. Happening at Chingkeetea's new branch, Velez-Gaerlan Street. I can't wait to get through this, so I can finally start writing for my future projects here in Steemit.

How's your Monday? Let's talk!

Regards,
Allyssa
asc.png

Footer_olaivart.png



QmXCnFvZ5SFREGJSr5KQvkMhzybiKaTefH2ZiHseEN6QCP.png


DQmQuRC7j4HFpxk1rdofTYy8DycM3i6qgv6HcuWqd8JcePu.png

Sort:  

Thank you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Good luck with your showing and possible sales. I love the cat!

I wish I don't ruin the cat. Decided to keep it since it's a portrait of our eldest feline we love so dearly. 😊 Thank you, @donnadavisart!

Posted using Partiko Android

I do that sometimes as well, you just have to keep a piece for yourself :)

All the luck for you! I'm a big fan of your work!

Thank you so much, @vadimlasca! 🙏 I really appreciate it!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 24 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 89 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thanks a lot, @trufflepig! ✨

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations on the show @olaivart! Looking forward to seeing more of it :D

Beautiful article @olaivart ! First time I am learning about Classical Realism through your post. I wish I could visit the show but a virtual tour would be highly appreciated if possible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81