Commissioned Drawing: Jazzbee

in #art6 years ago (edited)

BeFunky-collage (9).jpgHigh scool classmate and friend: Jazzbee


Last month, I started accepting commissions, and the first one to approach me is the boyfriend of my friend who happens to be someone I know as well since all of us went to the same high school years ago. Rusty asked me if I could draw Jazzbee and deliver it myself since he is residing in New Mexico now. Of course I accepted it right away, it's fun drawing people you know.... or maybe I wrong on that aspect.

I totally forgot I struggle drawing people close to me, and Jazzbee happens to be one of the those people. We see each other, we drink milk tea together, we call each other names. I think the struggle is because of how I think she looks like versus how she looks like in the photo.

So without any hesitation, I went back to using grid lines. There is absolutely nothing wrong in using one, but I just try to avoid it because I wanna practice my eyes in drawing my proportions. But I think I was already burnt out and very frustrated, so I opted to using it.


BeFunky-collage.png
BeFunky-collage (1).png
BeFunky-collage (2).png


I also realized how much I struggle with drawing the hair because I always jump to the smaller details, rather massing in the larger shapes. Ended up with really dirty, shadowy ends. After I felt a bit (a very tiny bit) of satisfaction, I went on and added some words which Rusty, her boyfriend, asked for me to do.


39389246_700988900254285_4596551966720524288_n.jpg

"You captured my heart, you captivated my soul. Now my whole being will be yours for the taking.



It's always funny to us high school friends whenever school mates end up seeing each other for real. It's somewhat surreal, but they're happy, Jazzbee's is definitely happy, so we are just nothing but supportive friends.

And since Jazzbee workds in different cities each month, we ended up seeing each other after 10 days from their monthsary. As always, we went to Chingkeetea, ordered milk tea and ramen, and I handed the drawing to her which I believe she liked.

Thank yo, Rusty & Jazzbee! <3



BeFunky-collage (4).png

39442561_565629440522810_2762652329202155520_n.jpg

I am accepting commissions! I draw portraits and paint landscapes!

For inquiries, you can e-mail me at [email protected] or you can drop a message in my Instagram at @olaivart_ (with underscore.)

Thank you for reading! I am back to painting for an upcoming art sale happening in my favorite milktea shop in town!

Best regards,
Allyssa

asc.png

Footer_olaivart.png



QmXCnFvZ5SFREGJSr5KQvkMhzybiKaTefH2ZiHseEN6QCP.png


DQmQuRC7j4HFpxk1rdofTYy8DycM3i6qgv6HcuWqd8JcePu.png

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Yey! We meet again, @c-squared! Thank you!

very lovely portrait ! the step by step is also presented beautifully <3

Thanks a lot, @veryspider! <3

wonderful drawing @olaivart, you captured her best smile the best and I think that drawing someone you already knew for years sometimes would make you dramatize something.. but you don't. so lovely and that's what friend are for.

That is the absolute truth, @cicisaja! Reason why I can't see to finish family portraits. :D Thank youuuu!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99