How an Artist can earn more from their work and build houses for the Homeless

in #art7 years ago (edited)

I used to sell my small paintings in galleries ... 8 x 10 oil on canvas or board for $1,000 a painting.

The Gallery would keep $500 and I would get $500 .... which I would claim as income and the Government would take $250 so I was left with $250 ....

Then I learned that I could donate a painting to a Charity Auction to find a cure for Cancer or build a house for Habitat for Humanity ...

The Charity would put my paintings up for auction and since people with deep pockets would bid on my work they would sometimes sell for $2,000 ...

This money would be used to build a house for the Homeless and I would get a tax receipt for $2,000 which I could use as a Tax Credit against my income so I would save almost $1,000 on my taxes. As an Artist this is the way to go....

Sort:  

Deserves much much more upvotes. It's a shame

Thanks. Resteem if you like .... That would help.

sorry I think it has removed the option now; maybe that's a thing that works in the first 7 days only?

I'd love to do this and so would @sharingsociety that's one of their goals! We need ways to spark interested in helping the homeless in north California we have a huge problem as well as many other areas of course

if your art touch people emotionally then it will sell.. all art forms do that it. dance, music, paintings, comedy, sculptures, graphic disign or poetry or whatever, when it's something people can rely to emotionally then it will sell.. maybe not in your lifetime if you are unfortunate like van Gogh but in his time they had no internet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57339.41
ETH 2522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31