Han in Hand - My "Star Wars" Trial by Comics Entry

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Have you heard?

Trial by comics is back! And I am stoked! @kommienezuspadt has made it pretty well known that he's not a fan of Star Wars, and I can respect that. It's not for everyone... He's called it "space muppets", which I find hilarious, and totally apt. But that's part of why I personally really love the original trilogy (Episodes 4-6). The puppeteering and visual effects are actually pretty damn impressive for the time. And there's something sort of lovable about the cheesiness/muppet-ness of it. That, and the sense of humor, which was totally lacking in the second trilogy (Episodes 1-3). I've yet to see "The Last Jedi", though hubby has given it his stamp of approval, and I was thrilled to see that Abrams was able to resurrect and breathe new life into the franchise with Episode VII. But, for now, I think the originals are where it's at, and so that's why I chose to draw a couple of the original characters, Han and Leia. I've always loved the love story between these two, and the way they'd goad each other on.

detail
(UPDATED with better photos.)

I wanted to run with the "comics" theme, and so tried to draw them in my own comic book style, the way I'd draw them if I were to make a Star Wars comic book. I also wanted to make sure that I took the time to pay attention to the details, not only in the characters costumes, but also in the environment... as some of you who've followed my work might know, backgrounds and I have not always been friends. But I've recently embraced them, and I'm happy with the way this all turned out.

hanleia

Here's a look at the process:

The sketch, drawn with HB mechanical pencil on 140lb watercolor paper.
sketch

Then I inked it with Micron pens. I used 05 for the outline, and 005 for the details. I chose to just outline the characters, and keep the background softer, so they'd remain the main focus.
ink

The first bit of paint.
first

Added in more color.
second

More shading, and the base layer of the floor.
third

All painted, still mounted, waiting for it to fully dry.
fourth

The finished product.
done

And another closeup.
closeup


I'm happy to say that with all the practice I've gotten lately, I'm able to turn these paintings out faster and faster. Things are flowing more naturally, as I'm getting more comfortable with my paints. Tons of inspiration and quickening pace means I should hopefully be able to find the time to continue to enter these amazing contests and challenges that keep popping up around the community. The Steemit art community is really pretty amazing.

Are you a Star Wars fan? Do you have a favorite character?

I wonder what the next theme will be...

May the Force be with you!

Megan

Sort:  

May the Force be with you @offbetbroad! Great work, you are getting better and better. This looks great, figures and background done great! And yes, I am huuge fan, my whole life ..Those new episodes, done last and this year..well don't want to talk about them..still ...an old school am I..to say it in Master Joda way :)

Thank you so much! I can feel things coming easier with each piece that I do - getting the feel of my tools again.
Hahaha I totally understand. I'm enjoying the new films, I think they're pretty well done, at least when compared to Episodes I, II and III. lol

Megan, Yes I absolutely am a Star Wars fan and your art is really cool.

Personally I really like the Kylo Ren character up until the most recent film and unfortunately Disney destroyed him for me.

Original Star Wars I always loved the ewoks and of course Yoda (they messed him up in the new movie as well).

Have you seen The Last Jedi yet?

What did you think if so?

Sorry I missed your comment earlier... Thank you for your kind words!
I haven't seen The Last Jedi yet. I'm hoping to see it soon, for sure. Kylo Ren was not really my favorite... I'll have to see what happens in the new film. Ewoks were definitely my favorite from the original trilogy. Maybe that speaks to the fact that I was a young kid when I saw them the first time. lol

I love the expression on lea's face. I have to say, when asked the 'star question' my answer is always 'trek' not 'wars' but to each their own. I did like the original old school films, but I love your drawing.

Thank you!
I was always a fan of "Wars" over "Trek" when I was younger, but now that I'm older I've found a new appreciation for Star Trek. I never got into TNG, but I love watching the original series, the new films, and I am really loving the new Discovery series.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61651.16
ETH 2369.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50