Comic Book Preparations & TBC Entry in One - character study #7

in #art6 years ago

face

So, last week I was using the Trial By Comics theme as a good way to get creative while taking a break from my comic book prep. It was nice to find some new inspiration and draw something "just for fun" after having my nose stuffed in my sketchbooks working and reworking things from my old comic. However, when I sat that this week's theme is "Character Design" I was pretty stoked to be able to kill 2 birds with one stone, so to speak. I've been working on designing new characters for my comic, and this has provided me with extra ambition to get the next one done. It also gave me the nudge to sketch a little more, so I decided to draw a bunch of expressions, to hopefully give people a better feel for the character.

page

This is Skye, a "goodie" air elemental. I wrote a few notes about her on the design page, but I'll type them here, in case it's too small/illegible.

BoHo, "sunshiney", festival chick

(She's a bohemian, free-spirit, always looks on the bright side of life, everything is sunshine, lollipops, and rainbows, loves music festivals like Coachella)

Millennial pink/opal hair color, high contour/highlight makeup

(She also has a pierced septum, an industrial ear piercing on the left side, 3 piercings/lobe, and a minimalist poppy tattoo on her left thigh)

True romantic - good & love above all else
Adorable & sweet - sometimes sickeningly so - comes across as naïve/airhead

Here's a look at the sketches:
sketch

Just the outlines:
ink

And a look at the colored piece...

The base layer:
base

And the end product:
done



We are getting ready to head out of town for the weekend, but I am hoping to have a quiet morning, to catch up with you all, before packing half the house for our adventure.

Sort:  

Great characterization, I feel like we all know a person like that. And, of course, she spells her name with an 'e'.

And, of course, she spells her name with an 'e'.

hahaha YES! You totally get it. Thank you!

Receive our vote by the team data-usb






You can check our daily report by clicking Here
Join our discord server to belong to our community by clicking here

You are such an amazing artist. I will tell you what I liked the most in your sketch- first one is the tatoo. Its beautifully done by you, second is the Neck band. Neck band is giving such a casual look and you have drawn it to the perfection. Third one is the nose ring. I liked it very much. Well done.

Thank you so much! I'm really enjoying designing these characters, and all their ink and little details.

I think your work deserves to be submited for the Artisteem contests, why not participate ? Take a look at this link:http://www.artisteem.com/contest/220180720_120857.png


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Very good work!

She is so cute! Love the drawings and the process you shared! I had to laugh a bit with your, "loves music festivals like Coachella"!! That says so much about her, doesn't it??!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02