Update from Inside the Pottery Studio - #1

in #art6 years ago (edited)

pottop1.jpg

I’ve never made a video of me working or showcased many images from inside my studio so I thought Steemit would be the perfect platform to give it a go. I'm always up for trying something new! 😃 Today I was able to spend the afternoon in my pottery studio and went through the process of dyeing some clay with some ceramic stains, after I made a few cups, bowls and vases, so I thought it made sense to showcase the process here for all of you to enjoy.

Since I came back from Japan late last year I’ve been lacking in terms of commitment to my craft, not going in to the studio on a daily basis to create. Like any kind of work pottery takes consistency and constant iteration in your skill and mindset before you can make vessels that you're really proud of. For me it’s all about showing up from now and making sure I do a bit everyday, so I’m hoping I can document it here and give you regular updates on my progress. I welcome any support. 🙏🏻 haha

play1.jpg

Please click this image to watch the video of me working on DTube! Apparently you can't embed here on Steemit.

pot2.jpg

Adding black shades of ceramic stain to a clay stoneware mixture.

pot9.jpg

Mixing the clay to get the right colour and consistency.

pot5.jpg

You can lay the mixture on a slab that has been made from plaster, it drys the clay and is a good surface to knead on.

pot6.jpg

Adding black shades of ceramic stain to a clay stoneware mixture.

pot3.jpg

First I started with some cups. For small vessels I throw off the top of the clay and remove with a string, it's much easier to mass produce that way.

pot10.jpg

A small bowl in the process of being made. I pulled this much thinner in the end.

pot11.jpg

The two pots that I made, a simple cup and bowl. These are already additions that I sell, so I may just add them to the collection. Who knows. 🤔

pot7.jpg

Although this looks like a vase it's actually a 'chuck'. Strange name but you use it to trim vase shapes.

pot8.jpg

Porcelain works waiting to be glazed and other experimental pots from the last few weeks.


Conclusion

This week I wrote down and sketched a series in my notebook regarding these tall vases seen at the top of this post. My plan is to make these in to a series in all different colours and sizes, stacked together. I am not planning to glaze them but I will glaze the inner of the vessel with a clear glaze and keep the outer in a matte colour.

I have come to the realisation that I work much better when I have a project or goal in mind. Once I have achieved it I can move on to the next. So for 2018 I am going to take this revelation forward with me haha I will keep you all notified on my progress. Feel free to leave some comments below! 🙂


Please follow me @oen for more interesting art, design and travel content.

Sort:  

Whoa these are flawless @oen, looking better than 3d models, amazing 🔥

Thanks! Appreciate your comment :)

You got a 8.27% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @oen!

That's beautiful!
I've always been in love with pottery, but never had time to get a course or something.
Enjoy!

Yeah, pottery is a fun hobby. I hope you can try it some day :)

You got a 80.56% upvote from @brupvoter courtesy of @oen!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by robm19 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85