Ordinary, Functional and Anonymous - Tables and Chairs by AOO Furniture

in #art7 years ago

In design I gravitate towards the idea of talking to the future but at the same time linking to the past. I think old designs were far more structural in nature and tended to focus on the functionality rather than the form. In this modern day and age we tend to forget about the function and put all of our focus on the look of something, which can be of serious detriment to the user and on a grander scale even the wider society as a whole.

AOO is a small furniture company founded by Oriol Villar and Marc Morro in Barcelona, Spain. I actually wrote about the work of Marc Morro in 2015 and have since continued to follow his work, this led me to their newest collection under the AOO studio name. They tend to focus on the material of wood as a starting point, with it they then look to design ordinary, functional, anonymous and everyday furniture, something at which I think they have excelled at.

Sometimes using the most basic of materials in an economic way, as well as designing them in a way that people can sit easily, is more important than any new age technique that we use just because we can, not because it's needed. Here are a few photos from their newest collection for 2017, plenty more can be found on the website linked below. The photography that they take is really beautiful indeed, enjoy.

aoobarcelona.com

This article was also posted on my personal website here →


A Selection of Previous Posts:

Rich Colours and Materials - A Selection of Furniture by Daniel Morrison of Yucca Stuff
Whitepoeming - Porcelain Collection by Korean Artist Wonjae Jo
Pure & Outline Collections - Furniture System by German Manufacturer TAVAR
Minimalist Shaping - Wooden Furniture by Japanese Designer Mikiya Kobayashi
Lines and Colour Patches - Paintings by American Artist Ethan Cook
Unified Aesthetic - Paintings by Laura Naples & Kristen Giorgi of NG Collective


Please follow me @oen for more interesting art, design and travel content.

Sort:  

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 2.84% vote... I was summoned by @oen! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

Guys, it’s not just a chair or table. It’s an engineering masterpiece. Seriously, I’m stunned by this functionality. Tbh, I’ve never seen such furniture before. Hats off to the designer. That’s really awesome. Tbh, I’m a product designer, and I’m really fond of such works. A couple of days ago, I read this story https://retrofurniture.org/womb-chair/ about how a womb chair was created. I love reading such stories because they show a designer's thoughts while creating his masterpiece. Anyway, keep us updated on more similar ideas. BW

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56278.39
ETH 2377.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29