The ArtsyFartsy Column - Tiffany and the Hiver

in #art7 years ago

I spend quite a lot of time obsessively analyzing my own art. Too much time.

I thought it'd be a good idea to use Steemit as a means of cutting down on analysis time and maximizing the amount of actual art I produce.

Today, I've chosen to briefly discuss my drawing, "Tiffany and the Hiver."

Tiffany-Discworld-Lineart-2-doo.jpg

So, this drawing was initially inspired by a book I'd recently finished reading. "A Hatful of Sky" by Terry Pratchett.

My reasons for loving this book are varied, but its comedic value ranks supreme among them. The race of fairies called the 'Nac Mac Feegle' are quite literally some of the funniest characters I've had the opportunity to enjoy. Their antics know no bounds and their Scottish humor had me laughing out loud over and over.

The scene I chose to depict has little to do with the Nac Mac Feegle though. It's all about the main character Tiffany, just as she's about to make the gravest mistake of her life - leaving her body in the presence of a 'Hiver.'

Hiver's are dangerous and elusive. They are not quite alive or dead, but a collection of memories from all the minds they've invaded. This one quickly seized its opportunity to take over Tiffany's mind - possessing her and bringing out the worst in her personality in its pursuit of power.

What do you think of my drawing? Does it capture the concept or is it missing something?

This picture on Deviantart: http://anjeff.deviantart.com/art/Tiffany-and-the-Hiver-684204309
Original Article: https://www.oddnugget.com/artsyfartsy-column-1-tiffany-hiver/

-Odd

Sort:  

Thank you! It's nice to hear someone else actually likes it. :)

Thanks! Much appreciated.

Wow really good work!
For my opinion there is nothing missing :)

Yay! Gracias. :)

I really wish I knew how to draw haha. Great illustration!

Thanks! You know, it's never too late to learn. :) There are so many ways to get into art, and so many materials to try out, it'd be a shame if you didn't give it a go.

Believe it or not I was in design school here in LA and dropped out once I discovered a camera. I didn't have the patience in class, but I do when I am on my own in nature :)

School's not really for me either, so I get what you're saying. :) Nature's definitely a better teacher

I'm a big fan, that's a really good work I admire how you care for small details!
I invite you to check my drawing too I'll begin a serie and I would like to know your opinion about it:) here is the link and I'll be glad if you follow me to see what's coming next
https://steemit.com/art/@othmanesl/harry-potter-drawing

Thanks so much! I left a comment on your drawing and resteemed it. :) I also followed you.

I really appreciate it I'm waiting for more of your work:)

Beautifull art, really good! Started to follow.

Thank you for the kindness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63252.26
ETH 2662.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79