Ipad 2018 for illustrator. Procreate and first impressions ► Art blog

in #art6 years ago (edited)

шапка procreate.jpg

Hello gals, boys, and everyone!

So sorry, I wasn't here for so long! Have so much to do. And then I had the ability to save enough money and bought IPad 2018!
For what? In the name of art god, of course! So here is my review.

I should notice that I don't draw hyper-realistic illustrations or something like that, just a regular art for my projects.

5BCBDFE1-EB8E-43C1-9313-CCE235C6BA70.png

Art for my article about brain and studies.

I want to start this review from the reasons why I make this choice. For the at least 10 years of my life, I wonder how cool it could be to have Cintiq from Wacom and draw like a true professional. Parents made me a gift when I was 14 I believe, they bought the graphics tablet from Logitech. It had a battery inside the pen and has been small, so I figured out how it could be - drawing digitally. Then they gift me a notebook with sensor display and Wacom stylus. It was just amazing - drawing on screen! Unfortunately, this notebook lived for around 3-4 years, and then I had to buy a regular notebook for my uni. Then I saved some money and purchase Wacom Intuos. I was happy, but not for long, it actually was a nightmare and the most awful experience. Everything was cool, except that Drivers always crashed. I changed computers, many windows were reinstalled - that doesn’t help. I still need to install drivers everytime that I decided to draw. I can’t say that it was okay. So I started to thinking about Cintiq more carefully and searching alternatives.

484F7952-A7EE-4034-8519-AF3AEA31CA34.gif

I found that everyone goes crazy about Procreate - many videos on YouTube, more and more lovely illustrators that I follow use it and make videos. Gorgeous Frannerd whom I follow on Patreon filmed a video where she talks about her experience with Cintiq and iPad Pro. But I can’t purchase iPad Pro - it costs just too much for me ( I live in Russia, remember?). But I still go on YouTube to find out what I can do with it, and here became a miracle - with new iPad 2018 you can use Apple Pencil, like with pro one!

Thank you Fran! <3

Well, I think you get what I do next. Of course, buy the iPad. Let’s talk about pros and cons a little?

Cons

  • Costs. You need a money for it. 128gb (cause you can’t just create art freely with 32gb), Procreate, Apple Pencil, case, screen protector, silicone case for pencil, gosh, why it costs SO MUCH?
  • Your free time. Now you will lose all your free time here, trying to change all your life around - I type this text in the train on iPad. Cause I can.

Pros

  • Battery. It is literally enough to draw all day.
  • Apple pencil. It is amazing! Drawing with it comes naturally and really comfortable. It is pretty lightweight, and your hand doesn’t get tired.
  • Procreate app. Guys, it is insane! You will get how it works almost intuitively. Of course, it has some tips and tricks that you should search by yourself or with YouTube, but it feels even better than your pc sometimes - you can rotate, put your hand on the screen, use your finger to undo or redo.
  • Calligraphy brush. It makes your lines smoother and clearer. Nice!

9CFED68D-EAAE-4299-80FF-7EDD299BE425.gif

Also, you can record your process not only with Procreate option but also with iPad screencast. And then use Splice app, for example, to montage it. Of course, free app comes with some constraints - you can speed up your video only to x2, so I think it will be more comfortable to export your screencast to your pc or laptop, and then finish it. BUT if you can work only here, you can make it twice, or three times in a row - then you just need to export your video one or to more times. But I think it is real and kinda ok. Also, maybe I just didn’t find an app of my dream?) if you have any tips - please let me know!

9F203400-7275-46D8-AA4D-2C95EAA14D23.gif

Also, you can make some frame by frame motion here, the free app is “Animation”, it is pretty simple and didn’t have a lot of instruments. But I plan to purchase some app for it, I’ll keep you in touch.

If you have any question - let me know! Furthermore, I’ll be happy to record some tutorials, any ideas will be great guys and gals!


I hope you enjoy it! Leave your questions and suggestions, and don't forget to follow!

футтер.gif

Valentina Egorova aka Octopaper
Upwork | instagram | 99designs

Sort:  

You have a minor grammatical mistake in the following sentence:

Of course, it has some tips and tricks that you should search by yourself or with YouTube, but it feels even better then you pc sometimes - you can rotate, put your hand on the screen, use your finger to undo or redo.
It should be better than instead of better then.

спасибо за обзор, как раз близка к покупке айпадика

Если что - рада буду помочь что-то ещё рассказать. Пост получился довольно сумбурным.

Interesting post! Congratulation with your purchase

How you did the animation pics here - just gifs?

Thank you!

Yes, create gifs in photoshop from time-lapse video - procreate made them automatically for every pic that you drew.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99