You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Dune Navigator Folding Space

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Lynch's movie has a dreamy feeling, which I find very artistic. Villeneuve is a good director, but there is always something missing in his films, like he can't make a proper climax; Enemy is his best film yet, in my opinion. I'd like to see his version of Dune, though, as long as there is less of this continuous music like in Bladerunner 2049 (which would be a great film if it was 30' shorter and a bit more fast-paced).

Sort:  

I did like Lunch's film even though it somehow felt a bit poor, compared to the artistic vision of what Jodorowsky and his band of great artists and designers made. I remember sitting with a large book I found in the public library with large colour-plates by H. R. Giger, Chris Foss, and Moebius - Crazy hippie fantasm contra Lynch's psychological punk. But I like your observation about the dreamlike quality in Lynch's Dune.

Yes, that bunch of people gathered for Jodorowsky's Dune was the elite of the period. It was like it sparked up a revolution in the way sci-fi films were made: it inspired or directly pushed the production of great movies, like Star Wars, Alien, etc. I wish there was a way to see that film as Jodorowsky envisioned it, 12 hours with Dali, Carandine, Mick Jagger, sets by Giger and music by Pink Floyd. It would be the Holy Grail of sci-fi cinema!

I guess you know it already, but I'll give this link for anyone interested in a documentary about this great unfinished project: Jodorowsky's Dune

I do know about the documentary, but I actually never saw it. I hope to have some time for leisurely things soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43