Fractals for Bernie Wrightson, RIP

in #art7 years ago

When I started writing this post, I wanted to refer to Bernie Wrightson and as I googled for the correct spelling, I read that he has passed, in March 2017.

Wrightson was a great artist, an awesome penciller, specializing in black & white pictures. He is the creator of the Swamp Thing and the character Destiny that Gaiman later used in his Sandman mythology. He worked for DC and Marvel, and collaborated with several great artists & authors in the comic, fantasy and horror scenes, including Barry Windsor-Smith, Michael Kaluta, GRR Martin, Harlan Ellison, and others.

Personally, I first saw his work in the Swamp Thing and I was amazed at his powerful use of black and white, and all the details he managed to put in his work. Also, a lot of his House of Mystery contributions, in stories reprinted in greek magazines. As I was into Marvel's Savage Sword of Conan (a great comic in prestige A4 format, with black & white art) I came across his contributions for Conan & King Kull. I even bought another Stephen King book after promising to myself that I would never do so, because Bernie had illustrated the Cycle of the Werewolf story! He has also illustrated H.P. Lovecraft's Cool Air, a short story which I have read online, as I could not get my hands on the original.

Wrightson's art
Wikipedia Entry
Dr Frankenstein's Laboratory, mind-blowing crosshatch

Initially I planned to show in this post how different formulas have radically different results in the final fractal rendered. The black & white fractals I made for this, reminded me of Wrightson and that's how I googled for him. After learning about his passing though, I'd like to pay homage to one of the best, so the least I can do is dedicate these to him.









All fractals made in JWildFire
by @nyarlathotep


Don't miss your chance to participate
in the Fractal Writing Contest!

Sort:  

Great fractals to this late mourning.

nice art that is
just mindblowing
very good that is
upvoted and resteemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53801.93
ETH 2252.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26