Paper Bowl – The Coolest Mess You’ll Ever Make

in #art8 years ago (edited)

My favorite pastime is recycling paper. For this bowl, I used daily newspapers. I used to hand-cut the papers, but since everybody loves to receive these for birthdays (plus, I sell them on the side), I got a paper cutting machine. It really isn’t hard to make, although it can get a little messy until you got the gist of it. I understand that DIY projects always seem easy to do when you see the end result, but when you try them yourself, they can be a little bit challenging. That’s usually because the creators are not explaining the process, nor giving you any advices or tricks that will help. 

The How to Part

Ingredients:
  • Newspapers
  • Old bowl that can fit the balloon
  • A balloon
  • Wood glue, or any other that’s white
  • An old towel, to collect the mess
  • Sponge

Once you cut the papers into tiny squares, load an old bowl with glue. I use wood glue, which is white and blends the paper well and keeps it sturdy. For the first layer, the one that goes directly on the balloon, I put the glue as it comes from the canister. For the second and third layer, you can pour a little bit of water. I do this not to save on glue, but to make it easier to use. Dip the balloon in the bowl with the glue and then in the paper pieces. I put all my paper squares in a plastic bag, to keep the mess in one place.

Once you cover the glued area on the balloon with paper chunks, you can use your hands to lock them in place. I use a sponge for applying the second and third layers, because you can easily manipulate the paper with a sponge, by dabbing one area after another. After you apply the second layer of glue, apply the second layer of paper chunks. If you want the bowl to be heavier and last longer, you can add another layer of paper. I don’t, since I put a lot of glue. 

Once the layers are all covering the balloon, you need to leave the bowl to dry out. If it’s hot and sunny, you can put it right under the sun to air dry. If not, put it close to a heating source. It should be ready in 24 hours, after which you can just pop the balloon and peel it off the bowl. I like my bowls this way, but you can paint over them to make them match your décor. Have fun and let me know if you succeeded! 


Sort:  

Nice! Did you make this? Are those original photos? I gotta try this!!!

Yes i did it :) and those are my photos i took during and after. Glad you like it, i'll add another one of my paper projects tomorrow

That is great! I would suggest tagging the "howto" topic, and mentioning it is your original work somewhere in title or beginning description. I am going to resteem your post because this is super cool. Following too!

Thank you, and thanks for the tips

More photos of the process please! :)

Congratulations @nvgfhjkvgfh! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @nvgfhjkvgfh! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60675.01
ETH 2605.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64