Original Ninja Turtles Concept Art by Varner Studios

in #art6 years ago (edited)

My good friend Steve Varner owns a 3D house here in Los Angeles called Varner Studios. Steve is a renowned sculptor in the toy industry, but actually began to build his reputation in the 70s as a portrait sculptor artist. He has some fantastic bronzes from this era in his private collection that I have had the pleasure to look at. He also worked on the giant 40 foot King Kong from the 70s remake.

Once he had already become famous as a sculptor, he was picked up by Mattel to sculpt portraits for celebrity fashion dolls and many other popular products. This led to him developing a relationship with Playmates in 1986, who were interested in developing a series of toys based on the comics of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles.

The following are some concept artists sketches developed by Steve and his team to be used as the updated look and feel for the characters adapted from the comics. I photographed these images myself from his private collection! Keep in mind that these sketches are all on regular white paper drawn in pencil and are all very old.

Keep in mind the cartoon was based on Varner's redesign of the characters.

20150716_204150.jpg

20150714_094609.jpg

20150716_204122.jpg

20150716_204130.jpg

20150716_204200.jpg

20150716_204209.jpg

I apologize for the soft focus on some of these. My Canon 7D is in repair, so I am dealing with my not so great smartphone photography at the moment.

sculpting_steve_04.jpg
Steve sculpting in his studio

I have been meaning to properly interview Steve for some years now. This is just the tip of the iceberg of all of the work that has done and is doing. If I manage to get around to it, you will be the first group to see it!

Please check out more of Steve's Ninja Turtle work here on his official website, which I built!

Sort:  

Looks pretty cool dude. Nice creation.

Waiting for that moment when a turtle will stand upright like humans

Someday. Someday.....

Lol...Someday like today right?

Yikes! TMNT.... now that reminds me of my childhood mate... I used to saw them every evening on tv along with spiderman. My favourite character is leonardo. They are the brothers of unity mate! But where is their master sensei? Missed him .... Very nics drawings by Steve... It seems He is very professional and creative with his work. U also clicked vsry nice images on your smarrphone. Say 'awesome work" to steve from me! Waiting for more posts about bia work. Stay well mate!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah I loved the Ninja Turtles cartoon when it came out. I met Steve about 13 years ago because my wife was doing design work on a doll line that he created called the Bleeding Edge Goth dolls (BeGoths). I had no idea about the ninja turtle stuff until I visited his office. I was totally freaking out because the turtles were everywhere. He had a massive influence on the look of the characters.

Wow that's some super talented drawings. Love it, you should share more of his work (if he allows lol) or just make him a steem account

Posted using Partiko Android

I will! As I mentioned in the post, I've been wanting to interview Steve for a long time. His studio does so many things. You probably have some in your own house.

I must say TMNT had been a part of my childhood and it is nice to see someone who conceptualized their characters in sculptures. He is really a very good sculptor. @nuthman

He still makes most of the prototypes to this day. It's pretty cool

Great ninja turtles nice post

Posted using Partiko Android

All this Ninja Turtles Concept Art are awesome..
only one word for this "Awesome".
Your friend is great artiest..

I agree, thanks!

Very good job

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83