The Blues: The Heart of American Music in Sculpture

in #art6 years ago (edited)

A good friend and local artist, James Muscarello is exhibiting his fantastic sculpture work in my wife's studio here in the San Pedro neighborhood of Los Angeles California. They can be seen at the Loft Galleries on 4th and Mesa on the first Thursday of every month.

James works professionally with another wonderful friend and phenomenal sculptor Steve Varner at Varner Studios which is a world renowned studio in the toy and entertainment industry. James mostly works digitally these days, but is also an adept physical sculptor who is branching out into the fine art world.

photo_2018-09-09_16-26-02.jpg
This piece is titled: "Solace"

The subjects that he sculpts are not based on any particular blues legend, but are meant to capture the essence of the heart of an original American music. It is a look at the heart of our culture; the melancholy, the love, the tears, the sadness and the joy of the blues.

photo_2018-09-09_16-26-15.jpg

photo_2018-09-09_16-24-39.jpg

photo_2018-09-09_16-25-09.jpg

This last Thursday, James brought in a second piece titled Check Your Pulse. He had just been putting the final touches on it over the last few weeks. I really love both of the pieces, but there are certain things that I really like about both of them. On Solace I really love the facial expression. James has captured real emotion in this one.

photo_2018-09-09_16-25-42.jpg

In this second piece, I really love the details. The expression, the concentration of the subject, the small details that you notice as you look more closely.

photo_2018-09-09_16-25-30.jpg

photo_2018-09-09_16-25-15.jpg
Here you can see James standing in the background

photo_2018-09-09_16-25-22.jpg

Currently James is working on another sculpture that we are excited to see hopefully within the next couple of weeks. I can't wait to see it! If you happen to be in the Los Angeles area, please stop by the The Loft Gallery on 1st Thursdays to support the local artists. Looking forward to seeing you there!

Sort:  

Sometimes I just imagine really to have myself an object of sculpture and with it expressing what I had been going through and had gone through all my short-lived life @nuthman

Maybe your mom could get you some clay. Perhaps you could make some art to express your feelings.

That is also cool but I want a real life-size rock statue of myself expressing what my life is.
Like a figure of a man with a body chain and reaching up like into something like a star but he couldn't because of the chains. It was a concept I was thinking of @nuthman

In this case, it seems that the end product of art means a lot to the artist.

I try to imagine how much I would go into the process of making such a sculpture and what I would feel while working on it. As much as this is a planing process I guess it is also a contemplating and reflecting one. To see that people take on all the effort to do so and to let flow through their fingers what moves them is what fascinates me and what also reconciles me with people. Though the art itself is nothing I would like to purchase - only looking at it from the far of my computer screen - I think the vibration differs when standing in front of the sculptures.

But of course, the music speaks to me and the devotion of the player comes forward. I do like the first sculpture where the player so gently puts his cheek to the instrument... his age as well is appealing to me.

Really good, heartfelt work.

Damn, his works are so amazing. Wishing him all the best as he goes on to display his work in your wife's galery.

Thanks a lot! We are hoping someone purchases his sculptures and gives them a nice home.

Yeah such fabulous creation are worth keeping at home.

@nuthman wow! Very nice and artistic sculpture! Give your friend a warm thanks from me. He really have created a masterpiece. The small details have made it more attractive! Hope more fellas will recognize his art and he gwts more popularity!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks, @mango-juice, I hope he gets the recognition that he deserves as well.

Yes ... That would be very energizing for him! Hope he gets further sucess in his career#

Posted using Partiko Android

Amazing detail in James' work. What material are they made of?

When I asked him, he said it was mixed media. It is mostly a 2 part epoxy.

Oh, thanks, he is very talented.

Nuthman sir nice post nice pics

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks.

Music of the United States
The music of the United States reflects the country's multi-ethnic population through a diverse array of styles. It is a mixture of music influenced by West African, Irish, Scottish and mainland European cultures among others. The country's most internationally renowned genres are jazz, blues, country, bluegrass, rock, rhythm and blues, soul, ragtime, hip hop, barbershop, pop, experimental, techno, house, dance, boogaloo, salsa, and rock and roll. The United States has the world's largest music market with a total retail value of 4,898.3 million dollars in 2014, and its music is heard around the world.

What is happening right now

OK wellcome sir

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59944.92
ETH 2307.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48