6 month progress teaching myself to draw and paint

in #art8 years ago


In mostly chronological order...


This is where I started

I heard it was best to start with traditional, so I spent the first 2 months doing charcoal drawings


He looks nothing like the reference, but since no one knows him you can't tell.


same here :P


Pro tip: If you need create a likeness, choose a character with lots of scarring and unique facepaint to hide your flaws :P

..or pick someone wearing a muzzle :P


Now back to digital!

Learning charcoal first helps heaps! Shading is no longer a mystery.


Now for some color!


This took waaaaaaay too long. Like 30 hours.


I also did some sketches for practice
Pretty bad




Eventually tried a "cartoonish" style


Added unique facial expressions

Sometimes I'd completely fail


or just lose interest and never finish it.


Sometimes they finished, but I wasn't quite happy with it

This one in particular was trying to be cartoonish, but it ended up just looking weird.


December arrived, and I was hit with the Star Wars fever :)

Note: for some pieces like this, I drew from hand first, then overlaid the reference photo to double check measurements. It's a recommended step for beginners to learn their mistakes :)


Another attempt at a cartoonish style


Thanks for looking!, will post more later!

Sort:  

Amazing work! You are a great artist!

This is absolutely amazing! great talent using the different media. I love the way you displayed the last one with the gradual phases slides. What software did you use if you don't mind me asking? Photoshop?

Unless you happen to be Andrew Price all of these are plagiarized from his imgur post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54295.07
ETH 2287.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31