Moon Art from German Notgeld for Supermoon Fans!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art8 years ago

Did you catch the Supermoon last night? I did, and it was amazing, but you still have one more night to see it if you missed it! In honor of that glorious nightlight in the sky, I'd like to share some of my favorite moon art from my German Notgeld collection. This is also kind of a test for me to see if I can post images successfully here. :)

First of all, the Moon-God series from Wettin, Germany:

Prior to Christianity, the Germanen were of course pagans, and the moon was the God of Victory (Siegesgott), according to these 1921 banknotes.

The city of Memmingen issued a note with a smiling Man in the Moon in 1918:


And another series from Grabow, which has got to be one of my favorite Notgeld sets, has three different Man in the Moon images. As the denomination rises from 25 Pfennig to 75 Pfennig, the moon waxes until it's full, also transforming its mood from sad to happy:

And you really have to see the other side of this series. In general, the front of German Notgeld was the "business side" and the back was the "artistic side" - so if these moon sketches are the business side, well, you don't have to imagine because I'll post the other side for you right here:

Get out there tonight if you haven't already and check out the Supermoon, it won't be back until 2034!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57517.13
ETH 3013.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35