Beautiful art from Indonesia #4 of 5 - Fundraiser for unknown artist

in #art6 years ago

Hi guys,

a few years ago while traveling Asia I met Deny Rusdian Wijaya from Ubud, which is a small hip village in Bali, Indonesia. He invited me to meet his friends and family and we did spend quite some time together. On a motorbike they would show me temples and sacred sites, beautiful beaches and amazing places. They really won my heart...

Deny was working in a small "studio" where all his family was living. Rarely a tourist would visit and even though his artworks where AMAZING I did not see him selling a single peace in the two weeks I was there. On my last day he asked me, just by the way, which picture I like the most. I had a hard time deciding so I pointed at two pictures which I thought where the most expressive ones. Each one of them must have been weeks of work (for one of the pictures he used a technique where he would place endless single dots of colour with a syringe next to each other...).

Next thing that happens, he unframes the two pictures, wraps them up and hands them over to me. I tell him that I can't pay for them and that I am also unable to transport them as I was about to backpack for another year. "They are a present for you my friend." he says and tells me I should simply send them by mail back to Germany.

I was stunned. For free? Two HUGE and beautiful original artworks??

This is now many years ago. Every once and then Deny writes me. "How are you?" "How is your family doing?" "Still traveling?". Almost nobody else that I've met while traveling kept up the contact for such a long time!

A few days ago I had the idea to promote him here on steemit to give him a chance to reach a wider audience and to maybe get some money for him. I did not mentioned the idea to anybody but yesterday night Dany contacted me and - for the thirst time since we know each other - he asked for my help. I will not disclose his story here as it might sound like a scam to you. Anyways, he is going through a challenging time and I would like to support him.

With his permission I will post some of his pictures and hopefully get some STEEM $$$ that I can forward to him.

The photographs of the pictures he send me are not in very good quality, still they give an impression of what this guy is capable of.

Lets see if this resonates with the community here...

Again: I am posting those pictures with his permission and all the revenue will get 100% forwarded to him. I took screenshots from our whatsapp conversation in case anybody does not believe that I have his permission.

You can contacted him by yourself if you want, his facebook profile is https://www.facebook.com/rusdian.wijaya

Here is a link to my travel blog from the time I was in Ubud: http://nomadic-spirit.com/just-an-ordinary-day-and-lots-of-pictures/

Lets rock and show your love to Deny the man!

Greetings from Peru,
Daniel aka Nomadic Spirit

IMG-20180504-WA0001-1-01.jpeg

Sort:  

Thinking about splurging on a more professional camera, what are you using?

@rocketsteem seems to automatically ask this question underneath every post that I make. How can I report this?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57173.66
ETH 3067.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39