Dragons ahoy, a fun day watercolour painting with my daughter. Plus bonus digital variations.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hey all you lovely Steemians :-)

My work runs a creative challenge every month and strangely the topic lined up exactly with some art my daughter wanted to make.
So I thought we could both do abit of painting. The topic had been dragons, something that I've always found fun to paint and draw. Looks like my kido thinks the same :-)

She wanted to paint a water dragon in watercolours. So I followed her lead and also used the same watercolour paints.

Adobe_Post_20180922_211353.jpg

Kido is Learning

Being 8 years old she wanted a few pointers. Which is always nice passing on skills you learnt through the years to the next generation :-)

Here she learnt to use less paint and more water, and if she puts to much on she can still correct her painting. She also discovered that mistakes can become part of process and character of water colour painting.

Reference, inspiration and learning from the masters.

She worked from an existing dragon image, painting from a picture of dragon made of water. She wanted to see if water colours would actually help her paint creatures made of water.

My own approach was to take various references of crocodiles and alligators and build a more realistic anatomy of a dragon head. If crocodiles evolved in to dragons kinda thing.

Mediums used

We used a cheap set of water colour paints, I left my Windsor and Newton set somewhere... In a box ..I think and like wise with my brushes. So I used her cheap glue brushes. But hey an artist's doesn't blame their tools right? Thankfully we had some heavy watercolour paper kicking around though. I finished the painting with pen and ink alongside a white pen, for outlines and highlights.

Our final traditional paintings. Digital to follow.

IMG_20180916_165235_20180916165530371~2_20180922210011495.jpg
Meet Mr Dracodilygatorgon

IMG_20180916_161936.jpg
This is my daughter's very own handy work :-) proud moment for me of course.

A Few Digital step further.

I tried a few experiments with my dragon. Using some of the newer machine learnt image filters that are all the rage these days. In the case I wanted to see if I could use these artistically to help enhance my original image.
Using the mobile app Prisma, I style transferred a lizard image on to my art work.

This created the following image.
IMG_Dragon_20180916_173854_processed_20180922215232879.jpg
Which I could then layer on top of my original piece after some processing in Photoshop.
Resulting in a really cool dragon/lizard scale effect.
dragon prisma.jpg

For fun I tried a few more styles, it's mind blowing to see how well some of these work and even a few that look like my other painting styles. With great power comes great responsibility.
IMG_We_can_do_it!_20180917_091326_processed.jpg
Looks just like I painted it on my iPad by hand.

The future for traditional, digital and AI powered art mashups is super interesting that's for sure. For me I just love mixing traditional media and technology :)
Most important of all though is inspiring my daughter to continue painting and to think outside the box.

Thanks for viewing everyone :)

Cheers
Nick aka @niko3d

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

TMC_Site_Banner_small

Sort:  

Man! That is skilfull stuff my friend!
Your daughter obviously has your talent for art too! I'm teaching my 9 year old son drums at the moment and I've caught him singing a few times to my delight!

Thanks Darren :-) That's awesome, sometimes the talent is there and it just needs a little nurturing to bring it out. Best of both worlds :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by niko3d from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This is really wonderful, @niko3d !! you have at your hand, a future master dragon artist, for sure !!! :D

and your own drawing is very gorgeous, the details and formation of the dragon's face is very wonderful <3

lovely post !!!

Thanks @veryspider :-) I showed her your comment and she's smiled ear to ear, made her day :-)

UPDATE: Hi @niko3d this post has been featured in Exponential! C² Featured Posts, a daily publication of the @c-cubed blog. Check it out :)
https://steemit.com/curation/@c-cubed/20180923t225901000z


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

This is just beautiful. Love the details, great work.

So happy to see your daughter is good at art as you @niko3d!

This one is almost perfect so I can't wait to see the digital version of it! Thank you for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51981.11
ETH 2334.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 1.97