I'm Nicky from Barbados. I'm a surfing artist pastor.

in #art8 years ago

I am a passionate self-taught artist. I have exhibited locally as well as Paris and Brussels. Here's a taste:

I am most inspired by the Expressionists (especially Robert Motherwell and Robert Rauschenberg and Pop artists like Roy Lichtenstein and Andy Warhol.
The art scene here is drowning in a sea of cliche images for tourist consumption and a lack of government support for the arts. But there are many talented visual artists like my favorite local artist the Rastafarian Akyem-i Ramsey:

Barbados is a very religious island.

Our tiny 14 by 21 miles contain Anglican, Pentecostal, Adventist, Methodist, Roman Catholic, Wesleyan, Nazarene, Church of God, Jehovah's Witness, Baptist, Moravian, Rastafarian, Muslim, Brethren, Hindu, Salvation Army, Mormon, Jewish and Baha'i. I worked as a Christian Pastor in a non-denominational Evangelical church for 13 years and I'

In our very conservative culture, leaning more towards the progressive side of Christianity cost me that job.

Barbados is also great for surfing.

We have a world famous break here named Soupbowl. 11 time surfing world champion Kelly Slater puts Soupbowl in his top 3 surf spots in the world. Here he is at Soupbowl:

and here's me:

I was introduced to the concept of Steemit by a friend, @jamtaylor, who encouraged me to join. Now that I've got a bit more time on my hands, I'll be surfing more and writing on Steemit!!

I’ll be posting on Caribbean life, culture, the arts and maybe some other ramblings. Hope you enjoy!

Sort:  

A surfing pastor and a artist. Perfect fit to Steemit. Welcome to the club. Wishing you the very best of success. Hope you find your place in this community.

Thank you! I'm excited to be a part of it!

What board shorts do you wear?

The ones on sale:)

Welcome fellow boarder, artist and man of God!

Thank you! Where are you riding??

We wakeboard in Eastman,Georgia at Gravity Research Compound and surf mostly behind my boat as Jacksonville,Florida only occasionally has good surf! But check out the size of our endless wave! (That's a fellow Steemer, Pipertomcat, riding here...)

I always wanted to visit Barbados, I'm going to Jamaica next week though. :)

My best friend lives in Jamaica, It's beautiful there! Enjoy!

Thanks man, I can't wait :) cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58647.58
ETH 2550.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50