The deep sealiehope - a dance film for ART EXPLOSION 78 theme deep ocean

in #art5 years ago

I am sitting in my cardbord boatboxbrain. I am dreaming of the seaskyworld. I am freelonleysad. Trying to swimmsearchreach someone who careslovesfeels. Floating in the waterthoughtstears. I come across a stormfightlost and try to navigate. I am spinning helplessly feeling illstrongbrave. I will dive deeper and deeperupout.

Sometimes I lie in my bed neither awake nor asleep. Images flood my brain and some of them speak to me with a strange kind of truth. This short film developed out of one of them. I saw myself standing inside a cardbordbox wearing a swimsuit and diver goggles. The sea was spilling out of the box, washing over my ankles into a dark nothing. In my imagination the water was build out of turquoise skeins of yarn. The room was dark, lit only by a small lamp and I had to prepare for something, for everything.

Kopie von Kopie von Soziale Medien – Design ohne Titel27.png

And then I was thrown into the ocean, floating upside down. Having no direction, no aim and no clear emotion. All was water – inside and outside.

Another cut and I was fighting the water. I was thrown out of my box. All security gone. I had to fight to hold onto the box. Struggling to climb inside. Running in it over water, defying the tides, the water and the wind. I was thrown from left to right. The horizon disappeared behind huge waves. I had to hold the wheel tightly to steer my box through the storm.

Kopie von Kopie von 1800px × 768px – Design ohne Titel28.png

Finally, everything collapsed. The box revealing itself as a box. The cardboard ripping in the ocean. And me… remembering these strange images. Sitting amidst of skeins of wool.

Kopie von Kopie von Soziale Medien – Design ohne Titel26.png

And as the film and photos are very dark, here are some brighter photos of the making of. Demystifying everything :-D We filmed and photographed with an iphone x. The music I recorded with an Ipad Pro. For the music editing I used audacity and Magix for the cutting.

Thank you @juliakponsford and @vachemorte you are a constant inspiration for me to create and experiment. This is my entry for ART EXPLOSION 78 theme deep ocean.

neumannsalva.png

Sort:  

That is an awesome work you did!

Love to see more like this and sending some motivation by a !BEER to you.

Thank you for the compliments and the beer. But before I make the next film, I need a better handy so that I can film in the dark (and actually film more than blueish smears) :-DDD This time I borrowed one, but it would be easier with my own :-D

Every cam will have some trouble with that kind of dark environment.

There special video cams like the Logitech Bria which has some light integrated - but this one is for use with a pc or notebook.

Sigh... I guess I am not very learned with the technical details. I will research the camera you mentioned, this sounds interesting... A phone is always a very convenient solution as its small and always with me. Some of them make decent night photos, I hoped this would be also the case with filming.



Hey @neumannsalva, here is a little bit of BEER from @detlev for you. Enjoy it!

Theme is very interesting this time and your attempt at it is great.

This post has been appreciated and featured in daily quality content rewards. Keep up the good work.

Wow what a wonderful compliment!!!! It is so encouraging to get such a wonderful support .... especially because I am not always (more never) convinced I am making interesting projects.

This is amazing, in the video you look like you're actually floating in water, I had to do a double take :D The singing is beautiful too <3

Really??? I have looked so often at the film while cutting that I was no longer convinced that the movements were understandable. So happy it worked, especially with the voice which I am even more self-conscious about (you now English... I speak it like a bad Nazi from an Indiana Jones film and although I love singing its nothing I do well or learned)
But before I start to ramble about my strange thoughts:
THANK YOU <3

This is amazing! Thanks for all those great entry to the art explosion contest!
You are a truly an original artist with an incredible diversity of mediums. You always manage to impress Julia and I. Much blessings!

Thank you so much for the amazing feedback (I loooove compliments :-D) and this is really encouraging and helps to blend out all the little nagging voices which tell me to stick with one style or medium. And you are also both inspiring with all the wonderful artworks, film and music.
Sending a big hug back.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68147.96
ETH 3273.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66