The black sun - right wing esoterism processed in a painting

in #art6 years ago (edited)

20180225_143347965_iOS.jpg


Please, never never…
Acrylic on canvas 60 x 80 cm

I want to write of hope, of the awakening mind, which realizes the truth. But can I? I want to write of the sun as a symbol of hope, of the Enlightenment, which will arise every day anew. I want to write of nature and love and happiness, of knowledge and curiosity. But I can’t.

While researching ancient symbols of the sun you find a wild (and sad) concoction of esoterism and right-wing radicalism. The rising sun a synonym for military atrocities. The invisible sun as an alleged symbol of magical wisdom passed down from Akkad to the Nazis. The black sun a manifestation of everything which is wrong.
Some time ago, I visited the German Castel Wewelsburg, where the symbol of the black sun can be found as a mosaic in the north tower. Till today it is unknown if the mosaic was built by the Nazi Regime or if it predates this era. Nevertheless, it now is widely used in the right scene, although there are often attempts to justify the use of this symbol by connecting it to older sources. After seeing the castle, its museum and more important the hints of the once nearby built concentration camp, I can only feel a deep sadness. I cannot understand why anybody wants to use a symbol which is related to such horror (indifferent if the relation is rightful or not)


The concentration camp near Wewelsburg is so horrible for me, because nearly nothing is left, only a small stone panel on a meadow (former parade ground) reminds of the thousands of murdered people. One of the remaining houses (gatehouse) of the camp are used today as family apartments. This is history buried.


(But I must counter that the museum at Castel Wewelsburg with its exhibition ‘Ideology and terror of the SS’ is very educational. I hope this helps to counter the seemingly oblivion of the former concentration camp)


Considering this gruesome history, it is hard for me to believe into the “awakening” of the soul or mind or whatever… There are to many people who claim to have found wisdom or epiphany only to afterwards separate the awakened from the ignorant, the masters from the dominated, the followers from the enemy. Maybe awakening is only possible by destroying everything which is human, when subject and object are one and opposites are identified as one. But I do not know the way.


nevernever process.jpg


The painting consists of several layers. I started with a transparent yellow basecoat. The next step was building a background with hints of light and darkness. I have chosen a mixture of muted pink and violet combined with black and dark brown. Now the main painting process happened, and I painted the flowers, grass, and plants.

20180223_190054000_iOS.jpg

Afterwards I first sketched the sun and then applicated the metal colours. The finishing step was to bring some of the flowers into the foreground and darken the sunbeams.

This is my contribution to @juliakponsford ART EXPLOSION WEEK 29: Theme AWAKENING

Sort:  

I love the sun painting.

Happy you liked it!

I found both your painting and your post moving. Looking at human history, it is hard for me to hold hope for our species, or the planet. But there is good within us, too, and I try to pay attention to that. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you for your feedback :-D And you are right, there is also good in mankind, but being confronted with the horrors of the Nazi Regime for a whole day made me so sad...

I'm sorry you had to do this with a migraine 😢 it turned out wonderful though thanks!

Thankfully I only had migraine during the post writing on sunday. The painting was made during the last week, but it gave me a virtual headache, because I (firstly) was so dissatisfied with it.

I really like your composition. Its well balanced and the colors are on point.
You analysis is also interesting, though pessimistic. I find it can sometimes be beneficial to reappropriate symbols rather than comply to old ideas prescribed to them.

Thank you for your feedback (and the praise... because I firstly did not like my painting very much). But as I wrote in another comment, the atrocities of the Nazi Regime are for me too much to ignore them. In my view there are enough different symbols to use, it is unnecessary to try to redeem such a symbol as the black sun. Maybe creating new symbols with more positive and life affirming connections could be an answer.
But you are right, I was a little pessimistic in my post. This seems to happen often for me while doing art – sorry for this.

I guess artists tend to be more sensitive to things they see around them. If you have the time, do a quick read on French/Tunisian graffiti artist El Seed and how he reclaimed the color purple. Its and interesting story and what I was reminded of from reading your post. Maybe you can find an interesting idea out of it.

Followed your tip, found him, love his art! And I have to hear/read his speech on ted and on his website. I have not heard from him before and I love to explore new artist (espacially artist with a philosophy)
Thank you 💗

most welcome 👍🏽

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66186.23
ETH 3494.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.17