Colors of her soulsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

Cross hatching for the first time

Hi everyone ! I was gone for a few days but FINALLY I made something and I've decided to try out something new. It is called cross hatching, it is an artistic technique used to create tonal or shading effects by drawing (or painting or scribing) closely spaced parallel lines.And I'm gonna show you step by step process one how it did it :) hope you guys enjoy it !

image

so first we need to draw her using pencil so we have a guide on where to put the lines. As you can see I marked the parts that we have to put minimal shading so we can't make mistakes since we're gonna be using permanent pens.

image

second is to add the outline using permanent pen. For the pen I've used it is Pilot G-tec-c3 0.5
image

once that's done you can use a permanent marker for her hair and start adding in the lines on the guides that we've made on her body.

image

then let's begin with adding the darker shades outside the oulines that we've made. Don't be afraid to make mistakes its part of learning :) as you can see I was not supposed to add the colors because I messed up a line on her hair so I decided to make intersecting scribbles on her side which made her more beautiful and unique.

image

after you added the scribbles outline it with a permanent pen. And a suggestion for adding the colors match the colors that you like one darker and one lighter so it will contrast each other and it will make it more pop out :) for the colors, I've used art attack colored markers

image

and don't be afraid to play with the colors ! :) have fun and experiment with adding different textures like lines and circles on diffent parts of the scribble. Its minimal add ons but it will make the difference

image

image

and TA DAAAAA we are done !

I've had a lot of fun making her. And I hope you guys enjoyed it too :) have an awesome day everyone !

image

Sort:  

Now I know how the technique is called :))
I had this tip lately, and I want to pass it to you too: Try to crop the black bands out of the images,as they do take focus away from the main object (for some reason in some pictures they were huge!) , while the sketches were a little dark, some more direct light on them while taking the picture or perhaps a scanner which captures every detail :)
for the rest, a good drawing with an interesting mix of colors!

Thank you milo ! Appriciate your tip :) sorry took me a while to reply I've been having a problem lately with my internet provider.unfortunately I don't have a scanner yet and I take the pictures with just my phone so I have to take a lot of pictures to get a perfect shot haha and it doesnt capture the details and ends up having the black bands because of different sizes for the pictures. But I'll surely apply your tip on the next blogs that I'll be doing and big thanks :)

Yeah I know, the pictures not always capture everything, or in the right way ... but other times it gives an extra touch,... I have a scanner but it looks it is everytime too small for what I have been making :)) Non c`e problema for the tip :)))

My phone is 2 years old haha so the camera is not the best I wanted to upgrade it multiple times but it's still working like new so I'm thankful because it never failed me xD what do you usually use when the scanner is too small ?

I almost always use my phone as well, which I waaaay older than two, actually it is falling to pieces ... but it still works somehow hahaha. Its a Galaxy Note 2... dont ask me at what Note they are now as I really dont have a clue... Well one clue I have: more than 2 :))
Try to put a stronger light when taking the picture, or go in the options of the camera when taking the shot and put more Exposure ;)

This is an amazing tutorial. 100% upvote from me. It's not much, but I hope it helps. I will show this to my girls and have them follow your instructions.

You're doing great. Steem on! Are you on discord yet? We have a community of Filipino Steemiams, where lots have your same interest. We may be able to help you some. Please find me in discord or steemit chat. I am also @steemitph on both.

Big thanks ! I really appricate it :) I'm so sorry took me a while to reply I'm having a problem with my internet provider but hopefully after I switch it would be a lot better :) I hope your daugthers love and enjoy it too. And that would be awesome and a pleasure sir. I'm gonna try to connect with you on discord and I'm really greatful with your help sir :)

Congratulations @nessyquel! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63126.02
ETH 2553.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78