You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Soaking my colored pencils | Experiment Drawing

in #art7 years ago

Neat experiment. You should try it again with artist grade pencils such as Prismacolor. I'm certain that warming the pencil softened the wax. Perhaps there is a better way to do that. Soaking has to damage the wood casing.

Alcohol also breaks down wax and is almost a trope among pencil artists. I like to apply it over the top of layers of color. You can also apply it to the surface before drawing. It is worth the experiment.

Sort:  

Wonderful! Thank you so much for the tip, @neopatriarch! 😊 I definitely would love to try that next time. I'm pretty new to colored pencils, so I'm eager to learn a lot about them. Thank you for dropping by. 😁

P.S. I'm planning to buy Prismacolor (or maybe Polychromos) in the future. And yes, maybe try this experiment again + the one you suggested. 😃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64647.65
ETH 3473.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50