THE PRECIPICE … Painting #42 by Neha Bisht/ Himalayan Foothills /Oil on Canvas / Art BlogsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

This painting is of Himalayan Foothills ( Lansdowne), Uttarakhand, India.

This scene is along a forest trekking path( known mainly to locals) in Lansdowne.

I love this path. I had made part of this painting in 2015 October. But I was not happy with the result. So I re-worked on it again. Finally the painting is complete, a little to my satisfaction !! 😊

In late December and early January, in the Himalayas, a magical phenomenon occurs.

The clouds descend down, exposing the snow peaks. It usually happens in the morning and in the evening. ( Of course there is a scientific explanation to it). But Science does not take the magic away from this beautiful vision and experience). :)

From a point of high altitude, you can see the cloud carpet below & a clear blue sky above.

It is magical to realise that there are villages beneath the clouds waiting for sunshine, while you stand on the precipice, above the clouds seeing the snow peaks and tree tops catch the sunlight.

I so wanted to paint the scene. And I finally did 😊😊

This painting is a tribute to this mystical scene in Lansdowne, Uttarakhand, India. It is morning time, at 6:40 am . ( I clicked a few photos and composed this painting in my art room)

At sunrise, the sun moves fast and within minutes the light changes from red dawn to golden morning.

Here are 2 Photos of Lansdowne, with a sea of clouds that I referenced for my painting …

My first version of “The Precipice" that I painted in ) October 2015... I was not happy with it :)

When I uploaded this first version of "The Precipice", on my art website, a clairvoyant friend and follower posted an interesting comment, saying, -
"You are standing on the precipice looking at a dream far away. That dream looks beautiful but you do not know what it holds. And you do not know how to reach it. The way to reach it is clouded and you are scared to take the plunge because you do not know what the clouds hide. You yearn but you cannot decide”

… Oh well ! He could not have been more accurate ! He read my mind . 😊
I do not know him. Never seen him. But he reads my paintings like a letter !! 😊

And now ,
My painting, "The Precipice"...

Thank you for reading and viewing.
Thank you for your love and support 😊💕… Success to You 🍷🍷 ... Neha Bisht / @nehab :)

Sort:  

Really amazing work. I love Uttarakhand and its people. Nainital trip was awesome.

Thank you, @rocksg ... Uttarakhand is beautiful. Mountains are beautiful. I am so happy that you like my artwork :)

Hi dear @nehab... It really looks so good!!
Very beautiful combination of clouds and Himalayan trees....

Thank you, @geetharao ... So happy that you like it 😊💕.. Yes, clouds and Spruce and Deodar are magical in Himalayas 😊

You are really very lucky to have a home near these beautiful mountains! I've seen all these only in photos or pictures, not personally!! But my son has traveled so many times to Leh, Ladhak, and also to mana pass and other borders ....

Yes, @geetharao ..By the way, Leh, Ladakh are even more magical . I too want to visit the Zanskar valley so much. Never been there...
South India has it's own charm and Himalayas have their own charm. Each place is beautiful :)

Yes, want to travel once atleast up to Uttarakhand...

that will be awesome :)

That's an amazing landscape and I would love to see this phenomenon in real life one day ! You captured it beautifully in your painting

thank you @dandesign86 .. It is a beautiful phenomenon. It makes the place look like a fairyland :) ... I am happy that you like my painting. :)

I lived in Dehradun, Jakhan for 4 years. These pictures brought back the memories. Sea of clouds were the words which came out when i first went to Landsdowne. Thanks for sharing these wonderful paintings.

Thank you, @honeychum ... It is so nice to know that you visited Lansdowne too. That area is beautiful... Thank you so much for your appreciation and support , @honeychum :)

your poem is beautiful and poignant, @honeychum . Forgive me for reading it late and the late response. Sorry, @honeychum :( ...
Sometimes depression hits and I become erratic on social media. I am grateful that you mentioned the poem here. In fact, whenever you post, you call me :) . The poem touched my soul . I have written my input in your post :)

Hello Neha such a beautiful paintings I love mountains for me those painting say "invitation to jump it to unknown". You can see clearly there is path between the trees. The trip is going down to "ourself". Also you can see the mountein peacks which represent our dreams and desires our goals in life.They are cristal clear right :_)also cover with snow which is pure divine properties. What is on the other side is always better than we imagine it whatever is our dream it is always gets better when realize it :). We just have to jump in to unknown. That why I always like to say the best yet to come.
Thank you for sharing it and help and support giving us.

Thank you, @mihail.tsvetkov . You describe it so beautifully. The trees in the painting came later, after almost 2 years :) :D... Hence the path and clarity too came later. I agree with what you say. Till we do not take the plunge, we never know the truth. And truth is divine :) ... Yes, you said it right - "We just have to jump into the unknown. The best yet to come"...
It took a while to accept pain. But I believe that "whatever happens, happens for the ultimate good. And happens for a reason"... :) Your comment gives courage and hope ! Thank you, for your support and appreciation, @mihail.tsvetkov :)

absolutely stunning! I would love to see this magical place one day! I love the reading that your friend did from the painting too! His reading added even more depth to the painting! Great work as always :)

thank you, @beautifulbullies . For a nature lover, this place is ideal. In fact , it is a cosy cocoon for artists and writers. Very quiet and natural.
And Yeah my friend in Deviant Art has interesting and accurate inputs ! .. I am so happy that you like my artwork :) ... Truly honoured. Thank you :)

You did a great job, your paintings are so beautiful @nehab! Looking forward for more of your work! kisses
It's definitely an upgrade from 2015-2018

Thank you, @alexandraioana26 ... So happy that you like it 😊💕

Great work, you really gave it something more with the second step....

Thank you, @airmatti .. For 2 years the blandness of the first version nagged me. But I was totally caught up with the other paintings. But finally I managed to settle it 😎😊

Beautiful scene, I am glad you decided to paint some trees and I like how you made the colors: green, ochre and brown gorgeous!

Thank you, @stef1 .... so happy that you like the painting. Green, ochre and brown are the colours of autumn and winter in the Himalayan foothills :) . I am happy that you noticed :)

Beautiful...
I once lived in a town where this would sometimes happen...
It was very magical feeling...

I lived in a rustic log cabin, off the grid, in the woods on a small mountain for around 9 years or so, and sometimes in the morning when I would look out over the town, the town would be gone... There would just be a vast sea of clouds... Literally it felt like the world had disappeared...

How awesome. It must have been such an awesome experience. You describe it well, "the world disappeared" ... Yes, living off the grid can be quite a detox and eye-opener. Thank you so much.. So glad that you like my artwork :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54225.25
ETH 2280.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29