Today In My Studio 05

in #art7 years ago

FullSizeRender_2.jpg

Hello friends!

Today is a follow-up to my last studio post and since I'm absolutely digging the carving, sketching and testing phase of my Gingko Leaf project, it will be my subject.

If you recall last time, I had made a glaze-painting test:
FullSizeRender (38).jpg

And here it is fired:
FullSizeRender_3.jpg

I also had the beginnings of a carving which is an altogether new thing for me. Rob is AMAZING with carving so I usually hand this task over to him but this time I wanted to give it a whirl and much to my surprise, I really liked it.
IMG_6294.JPG

I used it as a glaze test:
FullSizeRender_1.jpg

I'm trying to figure out how to approach this small mural so I'm testing a lot of glazes to see what they do. Ideally I'll find a glaze that "breaks" (where it's thinner over a hill) and "pools" (where it collects in the valleys of the carving) to define the leaves perfectly. All of this practice carving and glaze painting also helps me come up with an accurate price for each method. The photo at the top of the post is one I particularly liked, and here is another that has its merits as well:
FullSizeRender (40).jpg

Sketching Gingko branches to get the hang of the gesture of the branches and how these leaves grow. Later this week I'll draw out the actual design life-size. Stay tuned for that in a post coming soon!
IMG_6330.JPG

As always, thank you for reading, commenting, and following, I read and answer all of them. Be well and Steem on strong and with heart!

IMG_6315.JPG

Sort:  

Lookin' good!

;-) thanks my friend!

Beautiful, I really like the shade of green you used!

Thanks @ericvancewalton, this project is one green after another....perfect for this time of year when outside every shade of green is bursting to life as well!

You're welcome! It reminded me of Tiffany. We have tons of ginko trees around our neighborhood.

The client is looking for a Tiffany kind of look but a more contemporary take on it so your's is the perfect compliment, thanks so much!

I love ginkgo leaves and the work you have done is beautiful

The silhouette of the leafs alone are fascinating. It's really neat to see the scope of methods here. (I really like that last image!) Cheers @natureofbeing :)

Thanks @voronoi! I'm glad you like the glaze painted look, I really like it too even though it's more ethereal.

If you haven't been, definitely try to make it out to the Chinese ceramic city Jindezhen!!

I haven't been to China but have the hope of going one day! I'll put that city on my list, thanks!

Wow, this is absolutely gorgeous :)
Hi there :) I've been going through my follower list for the past hour, checking out who is new, or new to me, also refreshing my memory of people I haven't touched base with in awhile...and I came across you, making my time searching entirely worthwhile. Nice to 'meet' you, I'll be making sure you're on my feed now.

Thanks so very much @dreemit! Your comment just made my day :-). I enjoy following you and love that you take the time to see who your followers are. See you again soon in your feed or mine!

very nice design...

Hi fellow potter :)

Hi there ..greetings ! yes love the mud !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58484.86
ETH 3100.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40