Throw Away Gems

in #art7 years ago

group sf.jpeg

A new little side product from my ceramics studio: porcelain incense burners.

As Rob cuts tiles for our CLOUD Porcelain Tile orders, there are 3 strips of clay trimmed off from the side of each tile. Over the last year that we've been working at this collection, we've created literally thousands of these strips.

Rob does most of the cutting of these tiles and has long lamented the buckets and buckets of trimmings filling our trash and thought about ways to prevent this waste*. Because he's not only industrious but intensely - and I would say brilliantly - creative, at some idle moment while waiting for something to cool or dry he grabbed one of these and idly started carving.

FullSizeRender_2.jpg

His idle carvings have turned into incense burners galore! Initially they were very simple basic flat strips but these weren't very interesting nor particularly beautiful. He continued to play around and soon came up with some feather and leaf inspired shapes.

FullSizeRender.jpg

The colors depend on what color tiles he’s cutting and he only makes them while waiting for other parts of the process and always from these throw-away trimmings.

group 2.jpg

process.jpg

Meanwhile I haven’t been tremendously supportive of his endeavor since it’s created piles and piles of in-process pieces filling up very precious space.

However, recently these began looking really beautiful and unusual and I have to admit that I’ve kind of fallen in love with them which is why I'm showing them to you.

Shop link for Mandalas, Yantras, Incense Burners and Cups (coming soon).

FullSizeRender.jpg

feather config.JPG

A side note - we have actually since learned how to reclaim scrap clay so no longer have waste, but of course we still pull some aside for carving incense burners!

I always appreciate your support of my blog, thanks for visiting!
FOOTER.jpg

Sort:  

I'm very new...like an hour ago. But this caught my eye. What a brilliant idea for using something that's a throw-away...and turning it into something useful and pretty. Nice job ;-) I'm a big fan of up-cycling.

Welcome!! It's an honor to be one of your early reads on your first day. Thanks for your support and kind words.

These are beautiful. I love that they're reducing waste as well.

I think those are pretty cool-- and what a great way to get use out of everything; sometimes the greatest things are basically "happy accidents."

Yes most definitely!! Thanks @denmarkguy

good joob...thank you for sharing.

These are absolutely beautiful! I could totally see making a baby mobile out of these - different colors at different heights. Gorgeous!

Nice idea, I like it!!

Awsome pieces of work, ceramics have a warm look and working with is appears to be very satisfying.

Congratulations and good luck with that:)!

Such a nice and fresh idea. Really like them! Incense are commonly used here in Pakistan so this product would do quite well here. :)

Would love to sell them in Pakistan but with the expensive shipping, I'd need to have a buyer and send in bulk. If you know someone, let me know :-)))

Beautiful product and great idea to save material. Well done!

wow beautiful.

They are so beautiful! True art.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67