Self-Portrait Update

in #art6 years ago

I am prematurely posting this in lieu of learning tips and pointers from the community before the work is finalized.

It’s nearing the time for details, deeper shading, and highlighting of the skin tone. And I want to hear your personal techniques for these processes.

How dark do you go on your shading?
How many shades do you use for your textures?
How much detail do you add to the corners of eyes, mouths, ect.?
What would you change about the image you are currently looking at?

All constructive feedback is welcomed and highly appreciated!

image

Thank you, in advanced, for your pointers.

Massive love to you all,
-Narashi

Sort:  

Very nice post!

Thank you! ^_^

I don't have any professional advice but I just want to say that I love the hair accessories. I used to make beading accessories in high school. :)

Thanks for stopping by! Admittedly, the beads are there to tame my wild dreads. :P I’d be a mess without them. Hahah

I don't have a specific formula I always use. I tend to switch it up depending on the piece and the vibe. Sometimes I use a lot of different textures and layers to shade, other times I just like pure black and white.

I think you are going in a good direction with this piece! I like the contrast in how detailed the hair on the more flat colors of the skin and shirt.

Thanks so much for the feedback, @terrorfirma! I find myself switching styles or techniques as well. There is so much for me to still learn and explore.

the hair is turning out beautiful with the colors! i would recommend playing around with the idea of coloring in your lines on the face to match skin/shadow tone. it might give you a softer look. I think the hair drags the eyes up to the face as the focal point (esp as one of the redder colors contrasting with the blue) but if there are too many details in the face it could get busy and the eye will get distracted. maybe separate the wrinkles on different levels and toggle them on and off to experiment with which wrinkles you really want and which you might be able to leave out, and see which combo you like best! im also no expert in lighting, but i'd double check the shadow on the neck under the chin by recreating the lighting you want irl and seeing how it looks (altho i might be just totally off if you're referencing a photo to begin with and that's what it looks like lol) Otherwise, you're off to a great start! Keep it up!

Excellent feedback, @corinneiskorean! I truly appreciate you taking the time to write in such depth about your knowledge so that I may grow as an artist. This is exactly the type of feedback I’m looking for. I will take your suggestions and utilize them to expand my toolbox. Absolutely wonderful! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66369.30
ETH 3437.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.25