Jasmine with butterfly batik.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

DSC_3462.JPG
image source

I have started to learn from master of batik since 2016. Just on the weekends so I am still learning and getting to know about art of batik the whole time.

This piece was a request from my Philippina friend, who worked in Malaysia for a long time and went back to her country last year.

She saw my other batik, and asked me to make one for her. So I asked any specific colour and motif she likes. The touch of purple and "something liberating" she said.

I came up with several drafts and this is one of them. She was very happy to be back in Philippines, so I chose jasmine as for the motif because it is the flower of her country. The butterflies represent liberation, as they are freed from larve and cocoon. In Japan, it is used in family crest as symbol of strength derived from emergence in spring withstanding severe and cold winter.

DSC_3226.JPG
Photo credit: @naomipangolin

So First I checked butterflies in Philippines and studied their silhouettes. Then traced in to colored paper in various sizes so it would look random. I like random.

DSC_3235.JPG
Photo credit: @naomipangolin

Then I studied several jasmine flowers and trees from online sources.

After the draft is done, traced onto rayon fabric, and did the batik with melted wax and pigments.

DSC_3424.JPG
image source

I made 2m, enough length to make a dress, which my friend is a female.
Also, I have slightly changed the design for front and back of the dress becaused I think it would be interesting that way.

All the images and artworks in this post are produced by me, copy rights belongs to @naomipangolin.

Sort:  

Hey @naomipangolin, nice post! I've developed a better appreciation for art and photos, so it's nice to see good content here on Steemit! Cheers

Thank you @exxodus, I have just join steemit, so very happy to recieve a very first comment, as well as appreciator of art. Thank you so much.

Definitely! Welcome! It's a great community. Forgot to up vote you. Voted!! :)

Thank you, I am very excited :)

Congratulations @naomipangolin! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Excellent post! I'd say you are an excellent student. Thanks for sharing.

Oh my god, @fiberartists! Thank you so much for your warm words.... I am so encouraged:)

Congratulations @naomipangolin, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps that have been worked out by experts?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63476.24
ETH 2487.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68