Fabric sculpture spiral 14

in #art6 years ago (edited)

I like to make art, and was so ill for going to non art related work to put a food on the table, so I started to make artwork since 2010. This is what I make as an artist. I have been making variation of spiral inspired fabric sculpture (or soft sculpture ) since then.

_20180407_114508.JPG

I post this today because I miraculously took photo of work-in-progress :)

DSC_3003.JPG

The way I do is quite the same for most of my work. First, suddely think "hey, I want to make something like..."
There will be more freedom just to come up with it, or more restriction when there is a topic and theme to follow for certain exhibition and art event.

Then I make sketch on paper.
Then I make paper model/pattern to cut fabrics.

If the shape needs to resist gravity to stand, which happens most of the time all right, like this work, I use interlining. Use double layer for extra support, I cut out plastic from bottles if I need extra extra support!

sketch-1523073434602.png

The artwork in this post is created by me, @naomipangolin, the photos are from my own, also uploaded to fb(https://www.facebook.com/naomipangolin), instagram(naomi.kt) and blogspot(http://naomi-portfolio.blogspot.my).

Sort:  

Beautiful! Really interesting to look at.

Thank you so much for your feedback @kittyandcheese, am glad you like it!! 😊😊😊

You are so talented! I loved seeing how you put this together. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you @artemisnorth!! I had lot's of trouble making it, am so glad you like it!!

Hello! I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for the great post! ARTzone is now following you! ALWAYs follow @artzone and the artzone tag, and support our artists!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00