When i found my dream in music

in #art6 years ago

I was just a nine year old girl when i suddenly found my dream and life in music. I created a band with my friends(which collapsed😂😂). I used to sing infront of the class during breaktimes only to be bullied and to be told what i never wanted to hear "you can't sing". I would get so hurt. Get so torn because during that period i had started trying to write my own songs and i had successfully written more than three! One day i sat behind the tv watching The Oprah Winfrey Show with Celine Dion as the guest. That was where i got my inspiration. But the funny thing was that i misheard something which led me to my song writing journey😂😂. They talked about a million copies of Celine's album sold but i thought it meant she had written a million songs, so i told myself, "i will get there. Little by little i will also reach a million songs". And so every night, every day, i devoted my time into writing songs. But i didnt realize it was a gift. Songs came naturally to me. I didnt spend a lot of hours trying to write one line or get a beautiful melody. It just came naturally, while my other friends in the band struggled with song writing. Everyday gave me a new hope. I kept on singing all the time and my voice became better. I joined the choir which also helped a lot with the training of my voice. Within five years i had written more than hundred songs and i was so proud of myself but something happened.....We were about to write our final exams and so we had a stay-in class after school where we all helped each other with topics we didnt understand and all that. It was one particular day i was holding my song book. Still feeling proud of myself for being able to write over one hundred songs when a friend walked to me. "What book is this?" she asked. "My song book" I answered with so much pride. She took the book, she flipped through the pages. She held the book high and showed to the whole class and said"While i was learning, preparing for my final exams, look at what she was doing". The whole class roared with laughter. I felt my heart pierced with knife. My hands began to shake. I felt my body trembling. My whole world shattered. I put my whole heart in my songs. And when i put my whole heart in something and you mock at it, it feels like i've been shot. Since that day........

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44