Choodi Pooja

in #art7 years ago (edited)

"Shraavan" a month in the Hindu calendar which is filled with festivities. Festivals meant colour, get togethers and most importantly holidays.

One such important festival for konkani celebrated in Shraavan is Choodi Pooja. As a kid it was fascinating for us girls to wear the Choodi ( small flower bouquet) to school and compare whose choodi is more beautiful.

Last year I got married to Sujay in the Shraavan month and had my first choodi Pooja at home.
This year I'm in the southern hemisphere here in sydney where I had to wake up pretty early to find flowers in my backyard. But the excitement of choodi Pooja just kicked in as soon as I made the first one.

I just can't wait for tomorrow to perform the ritual. Until there I'm posting pics of the Choodi ( flower bouquet) and a sketch of the same.

image

image

Sort:  

@namratasujay
Good maintenance of a post! I invite to estimate my travel to India
https://steemit.com/travel/@goshawalker/travel-to-india-amritsar

Nice post! I will follow you from now on. +UP

Congratulations @namratasujay! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67441.24
ETH 3492.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81