Phobia Series (1)-Original Illustration: Emeraude/Spiders+Progress Pics

in #art7 years ago (edited)

About a month ago, we took a trip to Poland with my family (parents + three little sisters). It was great to be able to spend some family time in a very peaceful /a bit abondoned place. As I had some time to spare there, I was thinking of some new ideas for a series of illustration. I remembered a photo I had seen of a girl blowing up a huge bubble from a bubble gum, and thought it would be cool to incorporate people worst fears inside (or at least what they say/think they're worst fear is). I asked my sisters if I could snap a few picture of them, and ask them what they were most scared off. 

"SPIDERS!", said 8-year-old Emeraude.

And so this is how this illustration came to be:


Here are the two photos of Emeraude that I took:


My pre-sketches:




I then cleared the table, sharpened the pencils, got the reference picture ready and got out a big sheet of A1 drawing paper:

I sketched the outline, then worked my way into more details, gradually adding more values, as I completed Emeraude's face and hair:


I then started adding the spiders: 

Got my hands really dirty: 

I used an eraser to create the web like texture. 

And finally ended up with the final product! Here are some closer shots for details:

Thanks for reading! More to come soon!

Sort:  

Amazing piece :) Thank you for sharing this great artwork and the process and sketches. Very inspiring :)

Thanks so much @yoganarchista, so glad you like it!

Wow, very interesting work! I'm a bit spiders phobic, but I love these works ^_^

@silviabeneforti! Thank you very much, yes, I was also feeling a bit of unease during the drawing process!

Thanks a lot @mindme! :D Have a great day

Excellent job

I invite you to visit my page with the sad and funny images, old Soviet Russian illustrations
Sorry for my English. it's Google translator

Thanks, checked it out! Nice!

good creation keep your great job :)

Wow amazing! Love your work and the step by step hope you did it, definitely following you to see what's next!💥💥🌷

Thanks @cecirod1218, means a lot! :)

Thats an amazing piece of work

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67519.16
ETH 3532.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68