pietra durasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

Dear Steemians, I've been thinking, how can I be useful to the community. So today I post my photos of samples of pietra dura (the Florentine mosaic) from the cabinet from Palazzo Vecchio (Florence). This is might be useful for art historians, artists, anyone else who loves art, because in the net there are photos of these only of poor quality, or for money, or not the full set. So everyone may use these photos if need.

About these mosaic: these are not big plaques, about 16x20 cm, the second half of the seventeenth century, probably from the Medichi workshop (Opificio delle Pietre Dure), by scetches of artist Leonard van der Winne (see about him http://www.getty.edu/art/collection/artists/3586/leonard-van-der-vinne-flemish-active-second-half-of-17th-century-1713/).

I'm interested on the pietra dura because of my professional academic studies of an history of collecting etc and I know how sometimes important to see concrete samples closely (I love seeing thing closely). Besides, mythological scenes are not very frequent in the works of the Medichi workshops and I really like these ones.

*about pietra dura see wiki https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pietra_dura

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Feb 12. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.71 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 12 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thanks, @screenname, for supporting the post. Don't know what to say. The next time will better

Very interesting post !!

thanks you, @noemilunastorta! (again from your beautiful fantastic Italy. but I've never tired to admire it, ever).

I plan to visi it when im off from my lessons, i did not visit it yet but it 's very close to my university , i will make a post surely when i will go there! =)

Ah yes when i see something about art or archeology i always apprecciate. !!

me too! absolutely, always!

waw very beautiful those photos, thanks for posting this!

thanks, @safforuler. I so love them (not modest :-)), I glad someone else too

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69264.29
ETH 3316.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66