Steemit Blind Contour Drawings - Test your artistic abilities

in #art7 years ago

Blind contour drawing is a drawing exercise, where an artist draws the contour of a subject without looking at the paper. It strengthens hand eye communication and it can be an excellent gauge of one's natural ability to draw.

I have had art on the mind lately, so I thought I would apply a Steemit theme to this exercise. I used a tablet to sketch blind contour portraits of @ned and @dan and then applied color using Photoshop.

As you can see, my hand eye communication could use just a little work.

@ned

@dan

Any Steemians want to attempt a blind contour drawing? It's fun!

Maybe a whale portrait of @berniesanders?



img src




Sort:  

Haha, pretty cool. I thought you did great. Picasso would be proud!!

I draw best with stencils. :)

I'd love to see those stencil drawings @anotherjoe.
I bet they are bada$$ :)

Haha this is an awesome idea! Can I do it with a pen and paper instead? :D

I'll vote this up for visibility in case more Steemians would be up for the challenge :D

Pen and paper is better! I just used a tablet because I was going to post it here and the tablet drawing is much easier to work with when using photoshop.

Actually, I think you did a marvelous job! I don't think I could do that well...I'm going to give it a try.

Definitely give it a shot! They are fun to create because of the randomness. I could create those same portraits several times and each would turn out very different.

what a great idea! It looks like a lot of fun

Oh, it looks like fun :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84