CG Photorealistic Kimmunicator

in #art6 years ago

In my latest attempt to create a photorealistic render I recreated the Kimmunicator from Kim Possible. It's not quite there yet but I'm getting closer.


KP_Thumbnail.png

As you can see I took some freedom with the design. Since the original cartoon one is obviously not very detailed.
The design was inspired by modern smart phones that often have these glass fronts and metal frames.
I also changed the shape of the screen. In the cartoon it has rounded edges that make it look like it's some sort of CRT monitor which I don't think would be used for these kind of device.


The following picture shows the individual parts I modeled and the textures I gave to them.Unbenannt.png

To give it a more realistic look I used a fingerprint map to add some surface imperfections to the glass part.


For the KP logo on the screen I used a second model that I rendered into an image and used for the emission texture on the screen.Bildschirmfoto vom 2018-03-11 13-07-36.png


I decided to render my model onto a photo background of my desk. To match the lighting of the scene I took a 360° image and used it as an environment map in Blender. This gave me not only the correct light and shadows but also nice reflections on the glass surface. IMG_0066.JPG


Finally I combined the photo and the render. Since I am not very good with compositing yet I just copied a technique from this Blender Guru Video.


And this is what the final result looks like.
Or as Kim would say:
"so not the drama"



kimmunicator_tisch_1080.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68921.34
ETH 3929.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62