Ring light vs. Strobes a beauty shoot

in #art7 years ago

Hi All!

Happy Friday! Anyone got any fun weekend plans? Tomorrow I'm going to the mall to grab some pieces for a test shoot I have this Sunday. I'm doing my first big studio lookbook shoot on Monday, so I wanted to do a little trial run on Sunday, just to make sure I know what I'm doing and everything will go smoothly. Once I edit the photos I'll be sure to share them up here, I can't wait, and fingers crossed everything goes well!
Autumn makeup_5-2017 (333 of 823).jpg

Tonight I'm sharing a few studio shots I did with my friend and make up artist Francesca (@francescamartin.makeup) and model Autumn (@autumnleppla) I haven't released these on Instagram yet, so you're the first ones to see them (something that I think is going to be happening a lot on here). I'm normally a straight natural light shooter, but I want to add to my knowledge of photography and lighting so I've been trying to do more studio work. A photographer I used to assist always used a strobe on set and I really liked the way a lot of her images came out and that also inspired me to get into more studio shots. Autumn makeup_5-2017 (126 of 823)-Edit.jpg

Autumn makeup_5-2017 (116 of 823)-Edit.jpg

For this shoot we were inspired by some cool make up shots we saw on Instagram. We did some great beauty shots and then we moved around Francesca's backyard to do some natural light stuff. We did this shoot before I started Steemit, otherwise I totally would have snapped a quick photo to show you guys the 'studio' I set up in Francesca's living room. Luckily she let me rearrange her whole living room so I could set up a backdrop and lights. I found out that you need a lot of space for lights. They can't be too close because then they blow out the model. I'm hoping to one day have a studio space of my own! Fingers crossed!

Autumn makeup_5-2017 (210 of 823)-Edit.jpg

Autumn makeup_5-2017 (217 of 823)-Edit.jpg

We did 3 different make up looks. I started off using these strobes that I borrowed for the shoot and then I switched to using Francesca's ring light. While we were taking the photos I decided I liked the ring light more, but once I started editing them I wished I'd done more with the strobes, I actually like the way they came out maybe even a little better than the ring light, but while taking them they looked so bright. I think it's just a style that I'm totally not used too and so that kind of threw me off when I saw them on the back of my camera.

Autumn makeup_5-2017 (554 of 823).jpg

Autumn makeup_5-2017 (459 of 823)-Edit.jpg

I hope you guys like the photos and I hope you're staying cool where ever you are. Today was the one cool day we've had this week so far. The past few days have been sweltering so I'm just sitting by the window taking in as much cool air as possible right now.

Autumn makeup_5-2017 (305 of 823).jpg

Till tomorrow!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60320.14
ETH 3373.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51